Solange Knowles and Bruno Mars Dominate 2017 Soul Train Awards Nominations

Chis Brown, Khalid and SZA are among those receiving multiple nods at the awards show scheduled for November 5 in Las Vegas.

AceShowbiz - The nominations of this year's Soul Train Awards have just been announced. %cSolange Knowles% and %cBruno Mars% lead the pack. The former receives seven nominations and the latter trails closely behind with six nods. Other stars with multiple nominations include %cChris Brown%, %cKhalid% and %cSZA%.

Bruno Mars, Chris Brown and Khalid are up for Best R&B/Soul Male Artist. The other nominees are %cBryson Tiller% and %cThe Weeknd%. Meanwhile, Solange and SZA are vying for Best R&B/Soul Female Artist along with %cKehlani%, %cLalah Hathaway%, %cLedisi% and %cMary J. Blige%.

Solange, Bruno Mars and Chris Brown are additionally nominated for Video of the Year along with %cBeyonce Knowles% and %cDJ Khaled%. Solange and Bruno Mars are also up for Album of the Year alongside Mary J., The Weeknd and SZA.

Meanwhile, %cCardi B% receives a nod for Rhythm & Bars Award, thanks to her hit single "Bodak Yellow". She is pitted against DJ Khaled, %cFrench Montana%, %cKendrick Lamar% and %cYo Gotti%. DJ Khaled adds another nod in Song of the Year. He joins Bruno Mars, Khaled, Solange and Childish Gambino a.k.a. %cDonald Glover%. On top of that, Khalid and SZA are up for Best New Artist along with %cKevin Ross%, %cH.E.R.% and %c6lack%.

The winners will be celebrated at a ceremony on November 5 in Las Vegas. The gala will be aired on November 26 on BET. %cToni Braxton% is set to receive the Don Cornelius Legend Award while female R&B trio %cSWV% will be feted with the Lady of Soul Award. Musical guests are expected to be announced in the coming weeks. The host hasn't been confirmed either, but %cErykah Badu% served as an emcee for the last two years.

Best New Artist:

  • %c6lack%
  • %cH.E.R. %
  • %cKevin Ross%
  • %cKhalid%
  • %cSZA%
Best R&B/Soul Male Artist:
  • %cBruno Mars%
  • %cBryson Tiller%
  • %cChris Brown%
  • %cKhalid%
  • %cThe Weeknd%
Best R&B/Soul Female Artist:
  • %cKehlani%
  • %cLalah Hathaway%
  • %cLedisi%
  • %cMary J. Blige%
  • %cSolange Knowles%
  • %cSZA%
Soul Train Certified Award:
  • %cBell Biv Devoe%
  • %cJohnny Gill%
  • %cLalah Hathaway%
  • %cLedisi%
  • %cMack Wilds%
Video of the Year:
  • %cBeyonce Knowles% - "All Night"
  • %cBruno Mars% - "24K Magic"
  • %cChris Brown% ft. %cUsher% & %cGucci Mane% - "Party"
  • %cDJ Khaled% ft. %cRihanna% & %cBryson Tiller% - "Wild Thoughts"
  • %cSolange Knowles% - "Cranes in the Sky"
Best Gospel/Inspirational Award:
  • %cChance the Rapper%
  • %cCharlie Wilson%
  • %cKirk Franklin%
  • %cLecrae%
  • %cTamela Mann%
Album/ Mixtape of the Year: Rhythm & Bars Award (Formerly Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year):
  • %cCardi B% - "Bodak Yellow"
  • %cDj Khaled% ft. %cRihanna% & %cBryson Tiller% - "Wild Thoughts"
  • %cFrench Montana% ft. %cSwae Lee% - "Unforgettable"
  • %cKendrick Lamar% - "Humble."
  • %cYo Gotti% ft. %cNicki Minaj% - "Rake It Up"
Song of the Year:
  • %cBruno Mars% - "That's What I Like"
  • %cChildish Gambino% a.k.a. %cDonald Glover% - "Redbone"
  • %cDj Khaled% ft. %cRihanna% & %cBryson Tiller% - "Wild Thoughts"
  • %cKhalid% - "Location"
  • %cSolange Knowles% - "Cranes in the Sky"
The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter's Award:
  • "Cranes in the Sky" - Written By: Troy L. John, %cSolange Knowles%, Raphael Saadiq (%cSolange Knowles%)
  • "Location" - Written By: Alfredo Emmanuel Gonzalez, Olatunji Olutomiwa, Samuel David Jimenez, %cKhalid% Robinson, Joshua Scruggs (%cKhalid%)
  • "Love Me Now" - Written By: Blake Matthew Simon Mills, John Henry Ryan, John Roger Stephens (%cJohn Legend%)
  • "Redbone" - Written By: George Clinton, William Earl Collins, Gary Lee Cooer, Donald Mckinley Glover II, Ludwig Emil Tomas Goransson (Childish Gambino a.k.a. %cDonald Glover%)
  • "Versace on the Floor" - Written By: Christopher Steven Brown, James Edward Fauntleroy, %cBruno Mars%, Philip Martin Lawrence (%cBruno Mars%)
Best Dance Performance:
  • %cBruno Mars% - "24K Magic"
  • %cChris Brown% ft. %cUsher% & %cGucci Mane% - "Party"
  • %cDj Khaled% ft. %cRihanna% & %cBryson Tiller% - "Wild Thoughts"
  • %cSolange Knowles% ft. %cSampha% - "Don't Touch My Hair"
  • %cWizkid% ft. %cDrake% - "Come Closer"
Best Collaboration:
  • %cDj Khaled% ft. %cRihanna% & %cBryson Tiller% - "Wild Thoughts"
  • %cJazmine Sullivan% & %cBryson Tiller% - "Insecure"
  • %cMary J. Blige% ft. %cKanye West% - "Love Yourself"
  • %cSolange Knowles% ft. %cSampha% - "Don't Touch My Hair"
  • %cSZA% ft. %cTravis Scott (II)% - "Love Galore"

You can share this post!

Related Posts