Robin Thicke and Janelle Monae Among Music Nominees at 2014 NAACP Image Awards

Robin Thicke and Janelle Monae Among Music Nominees at 2014 NAACP Image Awards

The 'Blurred Lines' hitmaker and the 'Q.U.E.E.N' singer, who are nominated for four awards each, will battle against each other in Outstanding Song and Outstanding Album.
The complete list of nominees for the 45th annual NAACP Image Awards has been revealed. Robin Thicke, Janelle Monae and John Legend are the biggest nominees in music field as they score four nominations each.

Thicke receives a nod for Outstanding Male Artist, the same category that features Bruno Mars, Charlie Wilson, Legend and Justin Timberlake. The R&B crooner is also up for Outstanding Album for his chart-topping set "Blurred Lines".

The album's tittle track which features appearances from T.I. and Pharrell Williams vies for the top prizes in Duo/Group/Collaboration and Outstanding Song categories.

Meanwhile, Monae's nominations include Outstanding Female Artist and Outstanding Album for her "The Electric Lady". In addition to being nominated for Outstanding Song, the singer's duet with Erykah Badu "Q.U.E.E.N" is up against Mars' "Treasure", Legend's "Made to Love", Alicia Keys' "Fire We Make" and India.Arie's "Cocoa Butter" for Outstanding Music Video award.

Other nominees include Ariana Grande (Outstanding New Artist), Toni Braxton and Babyface (Outstanding Duo/Group/Collaboration for "Hurt You"), Beyonce Knowles, Mary J. Blige, Ledisi (Outstanding Female Artist), Boney James (Outstanding Jazz Album for "The Beat"), Gloria Estefan (Outstanding World Music Album for "The Standards") and Tamela Mann (Outstanding Gospel Album for "Best Day Deluxe Edition").

NAACP Image Awards celebrates the accomplishments of people of color in film, TV, music and literature. This year's winners will be voted upon by NAACP members and announced on February 22.

2014 NAACP Image Awards Music Nominees

Outstanding New Artist Outstanding Male Artist Outstanding Female Artist Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration Outstanding Jazz Album
  • "Summer Horns" - Dave Koz, Gerald Albright, Mindi Abair, Richard Elliot
  • "The Beat" - Boney James
  • "The Messenger" - Kevin Eubanks
  • "The Morning After: A Musical Love Journey" - Najee
  • "The Songs of Stevie Wonder" - SFJAZZ Collective
Outstanding Gospel Album - Traditional or Contemporary
  • "20 Year Celebration Volume 1 - Best for Last" - Donald Lawrence
  • "Azusa: The Next Generation" - Hezekiah Walker
  • "Best Days Deluxe Edition" - Tamela Mann
  • "Good God" - Shirley Caesar
  • "Music From the Motion Picture Black Nativity" - Various
Outstanding World Music Album Outstanding Music Video Outstanding Song Outstanding Album

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image