Critics' Choice Awards 2016: 'Fargo' and 'Mr. Robot' Are Big TV Winners

The FX anthology series tops other TV shows in terms of number with four nods, while the USA series wins the coveted prize for Best Drama Series.

AceShowbiz - Leading the race for the 21st Annual Critics' Choice Awards with eight nominations, "Fargo" came out as a big winner in TV field at the Sunday, January 17 ceremony. The FX comedy-crime anthology series took home four awards, including Best Movie Made for Television or Limited Series. The show beat out the likes of "Luther" and "The Wiz Live!" for the title.

The small-screen adaptation of the Coen brothers' 1996 crime film helped its stars Kirsten Dunst, Jesse Plemons and Jean Smart win an acting prize each. Dunst was named Best Actress in a Movie Made for Television or Limited Series. Kathy Bates ("American Horror Story: Hotel"), Sarah Hay ("Flesh and Bone"), Alyvia Alyn Lind ("Dolly Parton's Coat of Many Colors"), Rachel McAdams ("True Detective") and Shanice Williams ("The Wiz Live!") were also vying for the gong.

Plemons and Smart were Best Supporting Actor and Actress in a Movie Made for Television or Limited Series respectively. Plemons defeated his own co-stars Nick Offerman and Bokeem Woodbine for the title, while Smart was up against co-star Cristin Milioti, as well as other strong contenders such as Mary J. Blige ("The Wiz Live!"), Sarah Paulson ("AHS: Hotel") and Winona Ryder ("Show Me a Hero").

"Mr. Robot" was also triumphant at the event, bagging three nods. It won the coveted prize for Best Drama Series, edging out the likes of "Empire", "Penny Dreadful" and "The Leftovers". Its lead actor Rami Malek was chosen as Best Actor in a Drama Series, while Christian Slater won the Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series title.

Netflix's "Master of None" came out as a surprise winner in comedy, beating out more popular shows like "Black-ish", "Jane the Virgin", "The Last Man on Earth" and "Transparent". "Transparent", however, didn't come home empty handed as Jeffrey Tambor won the award for Best Actor in a Comedy Series.

Rachel Bloom of "Crazy Ex-Girlfriend" was the best comedy actress, while Carrie Coon saved the face of "The Leftovers" by snatching the best drama actress award. Idris Elba was chosen as Best Actor in a Movie Made for Television or Limited Series for his role on "Luther" and "The Voice" won the Best Reality Show - Competition prize.

Also honoring critics' choice in movie, the annual ceremony was hosted by T.J. Miller. The event was held at the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica and aired live on A&E, Lifetime and LMN.

You can share this post!

Related Posts