Eric Church, Hunter Hayes and Taylor Swift Dominate Nomination List of 2013 ACM Awards

Eric Church, Hunter Hayes and Taylor Swift Dominate Nomination List of 2013 ACM Awards

Church receives a total of seven nods, Hayes follows with six, and Swift along with Miranda Lambert gets five each at this year's Academy of Country Music Awards.
The nomination list of the upcoming 48th annual Academy of Country Music Awards has been revealed Wednesday, February 13. Last year's ACM Best New Artist, Scotty McCreery, helped announce the nominees as part of a digital press conference but he didn't get any noms.

Eric Church leads the pack with seven nods, Hunter Hayes trails behind with six, and Taylor Swift along with Miranda Lambert follows with five noms each. Swift and Lambert are competing against each other for Entertainer of the Year, but Church and Hayes are not.

Other Entertainer of the Year contenders are Luke Bryan who lands four noms in total, Jason Aldean who receives three nods, and Blake Shelton who gets two. Both Bryan and Shelton will co-host the ceremony in Las Vegas on April 7. This year marks Shelton's third consecutive year as the show's host.

Though Church and Hayes stop short in vying for the biggest prize, they still make the list for the top awards. Church is competing for Male Vocalist of the Year, Album of the Year and Video of the Year. Hayes is also nominated for Video of the Year, in addition to New Male Vocalist and Best New Artist.

"It's amazing. That puts it in perspective," Hayes gushed. "I'm kind of feeling like I'm part of the family now, especially now, with this. That's such an honor, such a huge compliment. This is serious. This is for real. This says that my music's been accepted by this community and it's unbelievable - and that's one of the best feelings in the world."

Swift and Lambert are facing off each other to be Female Vocalist of the Year along with Carrie Underwood, Martina McBride and Kacey Musgraves. It's Underwood's eighth consecutive nomination in the category, and she won it three years in a row in 2007, 2008 and 2009.

In Vocal Duo of the Year, Big & Rich, Florida Georgia Line, Love and Theft, Sugarland, Thompson Square are vying for the prize. The Band Perry , Eli Young Band, Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town and Zac Brown Band, meanwhile, are battling for Vocal Group of the Year.

Crossover artist Kelly Clarkson is once again nominated for Vocal Event of the Year, thanks to her collaboration with Vince Gill in "Don't Rush". The winner of "American Idol" inaugural season won the award last year, for her recording with Aldean, "Don't You Wanna Stay".

Entertainer of the Year: Male Vocalist of the Year: Female Vocalist of the Year: Vocal Duo of the Year: Vocal Group of the Year: New Male Vocalist of the Year: New Female Vocalist of the Year: New Vocal Duo or Group of the Year: New Artist of the Year: Album of the Year: Single Record of the Year: Song of the Year: Songwriter of the Year:
  • Rodney Clawson
  • Dallas Davidson
  • Josh Kear
  • Luke Laird
  • Shane McAnally
Video of the Year: Vocal Event of the Year:

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image