Taylor Swift and Kacey Musgraves Lead 2013 CMA Awards Nominees

The two young artists received six nods apiece, going head to head for Female Vocalist and Album of the Year.
Country music newcomer Kacey Musgraves is giving established superstar Taylor Swift some heavy competition in the forthcoming 2013 CMA Awards. The "Nashville Star" contestant is tied with the "I Knew You Were Trouble" singer with six nominations each, leading all nominees in the 47th annual CMA Awards to be held in Nashville and aired on November 6 on ABC.

The 25-year-old USA Networks talent show discovery is going head to head with the 23-year-old international superstar in two categories, Female Vocalist of the Year and Album of the Year, where Musgraves' "Same Trailer Different Park" is pitted against Swift's top-selling, chart-topping album "Red".

Musgraves and the other nominees competing with Swift in the other categories are in for a tough contest as the "Highway Don't Care" collaborator is a heavy favorite, vying for Entertainer of the Year honor for the third time this year, after already bagging the award twice in the past. She also has tied herself with the association's leading female winner Barbara Mandrell with seven wins out of the 21 times she's been nominated.

The list of nominations, announced on Tuesday morning, September 10 in New York via "Good Morning America" and afterwards in a news conference hosted by Sheryl Crow and Florida Georgia Line, reveal other top nominees like Blake Shelton with 5 nods and his wife Miranda Lambert with 3 solo and 2 group nods under the Pistol Annies.

2013 CMA Awards nominees:
Entertainer of the Year Male Vocalist of the Year Female Vocalist of the Year Vocal Group of the Year Vocal Duo of the Year New Artist of the Year Album of the Year Single of the Year Song of the Year (award goes to songwriter/s)
  • "I Drive Your Truck" - Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, and Jimmy Yeary
  • "Mama's Broken Heart" - Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally, and Kacey Musgraves
  • "Merry Go 'Round" - Kacey Musgraves, Josh Osborne, and Shane McAnally
  • "Pontoon" - Natalie Hemby, Luke Laird, and Barry Dean
  • "Wagon Wheel" - Bob Dylan and Ketch Secor
Musical Event of the Year Music Video of the Year Musician of the Year
  • Brent Mason
  • Dann Huff
  • Mac McAnally
  • Paul Franklin
  • Sam Bush

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image