CMT Music Awards 2012: Carrie Underwood and Scotty McCreery Among Early Winners

CMT Music Awards 2012: Carrie Underwood and Scotty McCreery Among Early Winners

Underwood shares her trophy with Brad Paisley, McCreery wins his first CMT Music Awards, and Jason Aldean becomes the third winner of the evening.
The 11th Annual CMT Music Awards has been kicked off at Bridgestone Arena, Tennessee on Wednesday night, June 6 with appearances by President Barack Obama and Republican nominee Mitt Romney. The first winners of the evening were Carrie Underwood & Brad Paisley and Scotty McCreery.

Carrie and Brad were awarded Collaborative Video of the Year, thanks to their duet in "Remind Me". The duo received their trophy from fellow country music singer Jake Owen and "Twilight Saga" actress Ashley Greene.

Wearing a short spangled metallic dress, Carrie hugged her hubby Mike Fisher before taking the stage with Brad arm in arm. "Did y'all see my husband hug him first," she jokingly said, to which Brad quickly clarified that there's nothing romantic between him and the hockey player.

They then thanked their fans, their spouses and director Deacon Flanigan during their speech. Brad additionally said, "I'd like to thank this beautiful woman for being in the video; otherwise, it's just a dork walking through the desert."

They beat Kenny Chesney & Grace Potter ("You and Tequila"), Rascal Flatts & Natasha Bedingfield ("Easy"), Lionel Richie & Shania Twain ("Endless Love"), Taylor Swift & The Civil Wars ("Safe & Sound") and Zac Brown Band & Jimmy Buffett ("Knee Deep").

Next, final nominees for Video of the Year were announced. The initial 10 contenders were narrowed down to 5; Jason Aldean ("Dirt Road Anthem"), Toby Keith ("Red Solo Cup"), Blake Shelton ("God Gave Me You"), Taylor Swift ft. The Civil Wars ("Safe & Sound"), and Carrie Underwood ("Good Girl").

After Zac Brown Band's performance, Scotty McCreery was announced by The Band Perry as the winner for USA Weekend Breakthrough Video of the Year, thanks to "The Trouble With Girls" clip. He thanked his fans, director Roman White and his high school mates who appeared in the video.

The winner of "American Idol" season 10 won the prize over Brantley Gilbert ("Country Must Be Country Wide"), Hunter Hayes ("Storm Warning"), Pistol Annies ("Hell on Heels"), Thompson Square ("I Got You") and fellow "Idol" Lauren Alaina ("Georgia Peaches").

The third winner of the evening was presented by Jordin Sparks and Dario Franchitti to Jason Aldean. He nailed CMT Performance of the Year, beating Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, Blake Shelton, Sting & Vince Gill, and Steven Tyler & Carrie Underwood. Like McCreery, this marked his first ever CMT Music Awards win.

2012 CMT Music Awards Photo Gallery | Full Winner List

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image