Competition Line-Up of the 2012 Sundance Film Festival Announced

Competition Line-Up of the 2012 Sundance Film Festival Announced

58 qualified independent films from the U.S. and many other countries have been selected to compete during the prestigious festival that will be held on January 19-29 in Utah.
The 2012 Sundance Film Festival has unveiled its key line-up on Wednesday, November 30. There are 58 qualified movies, which have been culled from 4,042 total submissions, that will be competing to win the grand jury prizes in narrative and documentary filmmaking at the prestigious festival, which will take place on January 19-29, 2012 in Park City, Utah.

Among those in the U.S. dramatic category, the are movies which feature some actors who are familiar in the mainstream film industry. They include Amanda Seyfried's "The End of Love", Victoria Justice's "The First Time", Blythe Danner's "Hello I Must Be Going", John Krasinski's "Nobody Walks", Mary Elizabeth Winstead's "Smashed", and John Hawkes' "The Surrogates".

John Cooper, the festival director, said that most of the U.S. films in the line-up share similar theme about people who are looking for deeper meaning to their lives in a troubling world. "(Filmmakers) seem to be questioning the idea of marriage and family," he told Reuters. "The whole notion of what family is. I found that a lot, questioning ideas of the American Dream."

The 2012 Sundance Film Festiveal will include independent films from 31 countries and 46 first-time filmmakers. List of out-of-competition movies at upcoming Sundance will be unveiled on Thursday, December 1. The list will include ultra low-budget movies, short films and others. More info about the films which join the festival can be obtained on Sundance official site.

U.S. Dramatic Competition: U.S. Documentary Competition:
  • "Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry" (Director: Alison Klayman)
  • "The Atomic States of America" (Directors: Don Argott, Sheena M. Joyce)
  • "Chasing Ice" (Director: Jeff Orlowski)
  • "Detropia" (Directors: Heidi Ewing, Rachel Grady)
  • "Escape Fire: The Fight to Rescue American Healthcare" (Directors: Matthew Heineman, Susan Froemke)
  • "Finding North" (Directors: Lori Silverbush, Kristi Jacobson)
  • "The House I Live In" (Director: Eugene Jarecki)
  • "How to Survive a Plague" (Director: David France)
  • "The Invisible War" (Director: Kirby Dick)
  • "Marina Abramovic The Artist Is Present" (Director: Matthew Akers)
  • "Me at the Zoo" (Directors: Chris Moukarbel, Valerie Veatch)
  • "The Other Dream Team" (Director: Marius Markevicius)
  • "The Queen of Versailles" (Director: Lauren Greenfield)
  • "Slavery by Another Name" (Director: Sam Pollard)
  • "Love Free or Die: How the Bishop of New Hampshire is Changing the World" (Director: Macky Alston)
  • "We're Not Broke" (Directors: Karin Hayes, Victoria Bruce)
World Cinema Dramatic Competition:
  • "4 Suns" - Czech Republic (Director: Bohdan Slama, Cast: Jaroslav Plesl, Ana Geislerova)
  • "About the Pink Sky" - Japan (Director: Keiichi Kobayashi, Cast: Ai Ikeda, Ena Koshino)
  • "Can" - Turkey (Director: Rasit Celikezer, Cast: Selen Ucer, Serdar Orcin)
  • "Father's Chair" (A Cadeira do Pai) - Brazil (Director: Luciano Moura, Cast: Wagner Moura, Lima Duarte)
  • "L" - Greece (Director: Babis Makridis, Cast: Aris Servetalis, Makis Papadimitriou)
  • "The Last Elvis" (El Ultimo Elvis) - Argentina (Director: Armando Bo, Cast: John McInerny, Griselda Siciliani)
  • "Madrid, 1987" - Spain (Director: David Trueba, Cast: Jose Sacristan, Maria Valverde)
  • "My Brother the Devil" - U.K. (Director: Sally El Hosaini, Cast: James Floyd, Said Taghmaoui)
  • "Teddy Bear" - Denmark (Director: Mads Matthiesen, Cast: Kim Kold, Elsebeth Steentoft)
  • "Valley of Saints" - India/U.S. (Director: Musa Syeed, Cast: Gulzar Ahmad Bhat, Mohammed Afzal Sofi)
  • "Violeta Went to Heaven" (Violeta se Fue a Los Cielos) - Chile, Argentina, Brazil, Spain (Director: Andres Wood, Cast: Francisca Gavilan, Thomas Durand)
  • "Wish You Were Here" - Australia (Director: Kieran Darcy-Smith, Cast: Teresa Palmer, Joel Edgerton)
  • "Wrong" - France (Director: Quentin Dupieux, Cast: Jack Plotnick, Eric Judor)
  • "Young & Wild" - Chile (Director: Marialy Rivas, Cast: Alicia Rodriguez, Aline Kuppenheim)
World Cinema Documentary Competition:
  • "1/2 Revolution" - Denmark, Egypt (Directors: Omar Shargawi, Karim El Hakim)
  • "5 Broken Cameras" - Palestine, Israel, France (Directors: Emad Burnat, Guy Davidi)
  • "The Ambassador" - Denmark (Director: Mads Brugger)
  • "Big Boys Gone Bananas!" - Sweden (Director: Fredrik Gertten)
  • "China Heavyweight" - Canada, China (Director: Yung Chang)
  • "Gypsy Davy" - Israel, U.S., Spain (Director: Rachel Leah Jones)
  • "The Imposter" - U.K. (Director: Bart Layton)
  • "Indie Game: The Movie" - Canada (Directors: Lisanne Pajot, James Swirsky)
  • "The Law in These Parts" - Israel (Director: Ra'anan Alexandrowicz)
  • "Payback" - Canada (Director: Jennifer Baichwal)
  • "Putin's Kiss" - Denmark (Director: Lise Birk Pedersen)
  • "Searching for Sugar Man" - Denmark, U.K. (Director: Malik Bendjelloul)

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image