Lady GaGa, Justin Bieber and Rebecca Black Are MTV's O Music Awards Nominees

Lady GaGa, Justin Bieber and Rebecca Black Are MTV's O Music Awards Nominees

GaGa and Bieber get multiple nods along with Kanye West and Nicki Minaj, while Black and fellow young singer Willow Smith receive one nomination.
Nominees for MTV's inaugural O Music Awards have just been announced. The likes of Lady GaGa, Justin Bieber and Rebecca Black receive nominations at this new Internet-based awards show which honors not only the artists but also music innovators, fans, web celebrities, and best music hashtag on Twitter.

"The advent of the digital space has forever changed the way we discover, experience and enjoy music, resulting in an unparalleled fusion of fan interaction and creativity around the artists they love," MTV's Dermot McCormack said.

"With the conversation at a fever pitch, the time has come to celebrate and award achievements and innovations in this space with an experimental, ever evolving, unorthodox and forward facing event that only MTV Music Group can pull off."

GaGa is nominated in at least three categories. One is for Innovative Artist which also lines up Radiohead, Tyler the Creator, Kanye West, Lil B, The Flaming Lips, and iamamiwhoami among the contenders. The others are for Must Follow Artist on Twitter and Favorite Animated GIF.

As for Bieber, his devotees are nominated for Best Army FTW. They are facing off fans of such big stars as GaGa, Wiz Khalifa, My Chemical Romance, Tokio Hotel, Rihanna and Adam Lambert. Also, his fan forum is considered one of the bests along with the ones set up for Michael Jackson, Phish, Britney Spears, and Animal Collective.

Black, meanwhile, only gets one nod. The 13-year-old "Friday" singer is up for Favorite Animated GIF along with GaGa, Bieber, 50 Cent, Katy Perry, Mariah Carey, Rihanna, Whitney Houston and Nicki Minaj.

The other young nominee at this prize-giving event is Willow Smith. Her "Whip My Hair" dance is nominated for Most Viral Dance along with The Berney Dance, Lil B's "Cooking" Dance, and Ginuwine Pony.

Voting will be opened at where fans can find the full nominee list. Winners are going to be announced in a live hour-long webcast on April 28 on MTV websites and mobile apps.

Some of the O Music Awards nominees are as follows:

Best Fan Cover:
  • Scampi
  • Mike Tompkins
  • Maria Aragon
  • PS22 Chorus
  • Jorge and Alexa Narvaez
  • Alex Goot
Innovative Music Video: Fan Army FTW:
  • Beliebers
  • Little Monsters
  • Taylor Gang
  • Barbiez
  • Clouds
  • Echelon
  • Killjoys & MCRmy
  • Aliens/Tokio Hotel Fans
  • Katy Kats
  • Rihanna Navy
  • Glamberts
Innovative Artist: Must Follow Artist on Twitter: NSFW Music Video: Most Viral Dance: Favorite Animated GIF: Best Fan Forum: Best Remix: Best iTunes LP:

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image