'Game of Thrones', 'Mad Men' Take Top Honors at TCA Awards

'Game of Thrones', 'Mad Men' Take Top Honors at TCA Awards

The HBO newbie is named Outstanding New Program, while 'Mad Men' and 'Modern Family' take home two trophies each.

"Game of Thrones", "Mad Men" and "Modern Family" were among big winners at the annual Television Critics Association awards ceremony held Saturday night, August 6. The new popular TV show from HBO got its kudo for being Outstanding New Program.

"Mad Men" and "Modern Family", meanwhile, led in terms of number with two kudos each. The former was named Outstanding Drama with Jon Hamm winning for his individual achievement. The latter was hailed as Outstanding Comedy while its star Ty Burrell walked home with Individual Achievement in Comedy Award, which he shared with Nick Offerman of "Parks and Recreation".

Recently wrapped show "Friday Night Lights" was chosen as Program of the Year, while Oprah Winfrey who has just resigned from her long-running daytime talk show was honored with Career Achievement Award. "The Amazing Race" and "Sesame Street" were additionally among the honorees at the event.

  • Individual Achievement in Drama: Jon Hamm ("Mad Men", AMC)
  • Individual Achievement in Comedy: Ty Burrell ("Modern Family", ABC) and Nick Offerman ("Parks and Recreation", NBC)
  • Outstanding Achievement in News and Information: "Restrepo" (National Geographic Channel)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming: "The Amazing Race" (CBS)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming: "Sesame Street" (PBS)
  • Outstanding New Program: "Game of Thrones" (HBO)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials: "Masterpiece: Sherlock" (PBS)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Drama: "Mad Men" (AMC)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Comedy: "Modern Family" (ABC)
  • Career Achievement Award: Oprah Winfrey
  • Heritage Award: "The Dick Van Dyke Show"
  • Program of the Year: "Friday Night Lights" (DirecTV/NBC)
    • © AceShowbiz.com

Recommended News

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *