Far East Movement Biography

The three members of Far East Movement, Kev Nish, Prohgress and J-Splif, grew up together in Los Angeles. They were influenced by the thriving downtown L.A. scene and a wide array of music from fellow West Coast classics like the Pharcyde and Dr. Dre, to the dance music of DJ Tiesto and Daft Punk, to L.A. rockers like Guns 'N Roses, Linkin Park and Blink 182.

Sharing a passion for music together, they bonded and started taking music more seriously after graduating from high school. They did the shows at Los Angeles local bars, clubs and lofts under the moniker Emcee's Anonymous and later changed to Far East Movement which was taken from the lyrics of one of their songs. In 2003, they organized an event called Movementality featuring ten different performances with all the proceeds sent to a local youth drug rehabilitation center.

They got their break when their song "Round and Round" was featured in movie "The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift". This led them to perform on two world tours and sign distribution deals in Japan and Korea. "Folk Music" was released in 2006, a year after "Audio Bio". Their songs continued to be shown in the media and TV networks. In 2007, one of their tracks "Satisfaction" was featured in the Sundance Film Festival's movie "Finishing the Game".

The group grew to become a four-piece in 2008 when DJ Virman joined them as DJ. Wasting no time, they then moved forward with another record "Animal", leading them to receive heavy airplay with their single "Lowridin". Another song "Girls On the Dance Floor" was featured in a major scene in the hit film "Get Him to the Greek", "America's Best Dance Crew", "CSI Miami" and "So You Think You Can Dance". On stage, they have supported Lady GaGa and were tapped for major events with the likes of Jay-Z, Pitbull, Black Eyed Peas and more.

In 2010, FM were signed to Cherrytree Records, a subsidiary of Interscope Records. The first single "Like a G6" was a hit in the U.S., marking the first time they broke into the Top 10 on Billboard Hot 100 and making them the first Asian-American group to enter the list. Collaboration in the album which is set for October 12 release include Ryan Tedder, Bruno Mars, Snoop Dogg, Ryan Tedder of OneRepublic, Keri Hilson, Frankmusik, Colette Carr, Mohombi and Lil Jon.