Wale Biography

  • Wale
    • Famous as : Rapper
    • Birth Name : Olubowale Victor Akintimehin
    • Birth Date : September 21, 1984
    • Birth Place : Washington, D.C., USA
    • Spouse : -
    • Claim to Fame : Song "Dig Dug (Shake It)" (2006)

Wale Bio, Life Story

If there were a rapper with idealistic points in his music, it would be Wale. Born as Olubowale Victor Akintimehin on September 21, 1984, Wale was raised by his Nigerian parents in the United States. His family moved Stateside through Austria in 1979, allowing him to get education in Quince Orchard High School in Gaithersburg, Maryland among others.

Wale enrolled in Robert Morris University and Virginia State University on football scholarships, then transferred to Bowie State University but dropped out. He had tried out a career in music in the latter of 2000s, recording his first song "Rhyme of the Century" and signing deal with a local label in 2006. His next song "Dig Dug (Shake It)" became the most requested song by a local artist in D.C. radio history. It was later included in his first mixtape, "Paint a Picture".

Wale's name started to spread around in DJ scene and reached the ear of a former club DJ, Daniel Weisman. The rapper was then represented by Weisman and released his first original single called "Uptown Roamers". Wale made a couple more mixtapes after that. He was branded "cool, smart, up-and-coming hip-hop artist" at that time.

Relationship brought him to get to know Mark Ronson who did a remix of Lily Allen's "Smile". Wale supported Ronson on his U.K. Tour before signing a production deal with Ronson's Allido Records. The Ronson association opened many doors to him including his first national TV interview with MTV in 2007.

It was in 2008 that Wale signed a venture deal with Ronson's Allido Records and Interscope after rejecting big labels like Def Jam and Atlantic Records among others first. Under Interscope's umbrella, Wale began recording tracks for his major label debut, "Attention Deficit". The studio effort was released in November 2009 to mostly positive reaction. It earned the 21st spot on Billboard Hot 200 chart on the first week of sale.

However, the rapper blamed the low number of sales on the shipping. Daniel Weisman, Wale's manager, claimed that Interscope didn't ship enough copies of the album. Nevertheless, promotional efforts continued with national tour and one more mixtape release. Then in the second half of 2010, he started to re-release a track from one of his previous mixtapes for free-download on his own website every Thursday.

He later parted ways with Interscope and signed with Rick Ross' Maybach Music Group. "That dude is a

Continue to page: 2

*/ if ($layoutType == 'mobile') { mb_bottomframe($kanal, $htmlfile, $brstatus); } ?>