Tyler, the Creator Biography

  • Tyler, the Creator
    • Famous as : Rapper, producer
    • Birth Name : Tyler Gregory Okonma
    • Birth Date : March 06, 1991
    • Birth Place : Los Angeles, California, USA
    • Spouse : -
    • Claim to Fame : Album "Goblin" (2011)

Tyler, the Creator Bio, Life Story

Tyler, the Creator was born Tyler Okonma on March 6, 1991. His love of music began at the tender age of 7 when he created imaginary albums complete with the track list. He formed and fronted a rap group called Odd Future Wolf Gang Kill Them All. The group released their first album in 2008, but Tyler was head on to craft his own album.

In late 2009, he released his debut album titled "Bastard". Led by the title track and "French", the effort landed at No. 32 on Pitchfork Media's list of the Top Albums of 2010. Meanwhile, the second single was ranked 61st on Pitchfork Media's list of the Top 100 Tracks of 2010. As his solo career seemed to be on the track, Tyler put up with his group, going on tours and promoting their second album.

Tyler said he was under a one-album deal with XL Recording and therefore "Goblin" was released on May 10, 2011. It was a concept album, continuing Tyler's dialogues with his fictional therapist Dr. TC, who was first heard on "Bastard". The album, which was led by "Sandwitches", bowed at No. 5 on Billboard 200 and No. 1 on Billboard R&B chart.

During this period, not only his music received criticism, but also his homophobic slurs on "Goblin" sparked backlash. In his defense, he said, "I'm not homophobic. I just say 'faggot' and use 'gay' as an adjective to describe stupid s**t."

Tyler was not taking a break, announcing that he was due to release his third album titled "Wolf" in 2012. He said it would contain instrumentals that he had made since he was 15. However, it wasn't until the following year that the studio effort arrived. Making its way out via Odd Future Records and RED Distribution, "Wolf" was released on April 2, 2013 and featured Frank Ocean, Pharrell Williams and Erykah Badu among others. It received critical acclaim and debuted at No. 3 on Billboard 200 after selling 90,000 copies in its first week.

Tyler spent 2014 mostly on the road as he performed on a series of shows across North America. On March 15, he was arrested for inciting a riot after asking fans to push their way past security guards at a concert on the South by Southwest music festival.

Tyler's fourth album "Cherry Bomb" was released digitally on April 13, 2015, while the physical

Continue to page: 2

*/ if ($layoutType == 'mobile') { mb_bottomframe($kanal, $htmlfile, $brstatus); } ?>