Fifth Harmony Biography

news-detailsFifth Harmony is a five-piece girl group formed during the second season of "The X Factor (US)". It consists of Ally Brooke (born on July 7, 1993 in San Antonio, Texas), Normani Kordei (born on May 31, 1996 in Atlanta, Georgia), Lauren Jauregui (born on June 27, 1996 in Miami, Florida), Camila Cabello (born on March 3, 1997 in Cuba) and Dinah Jane Hansen (born on June 22, 1997 in Santa Ana, California).

As per the rules of "The X Factor", each member of the band entered the singing competition as a solo artist. They were put together by judge Simon Cowell to compete in the "groups" category. They eventually finished in third place, right behind Carly Rose Sonenclar and first-place winner Tate Stevens. Fifth Harmony then signed to Epic Records in the U.S. and Cowell's Syco Records in Britain.

After "The X Factor", the girls began posting videos of them covering popular songs on YouTube. They spent 2013 playing numerous live shows including a tour titled "Harmonize America", which found them performing at shopping malls across the country between July to August 2013. They also served as the opening act for Cher Lloyd's "I Wish" tour before announcing that they would be performing in Canada and the U.S. as a part of their first headlining concert hall tour "Fifth Harmony 2013".

Fifth Harmony released their debut EP "Better Together" on October 22, 2013. Peaking at No, 6 on Billboard 200, it included songs like "Miss Movin' On", which was nominated for Choice Break-Up Song at Teen Choice Awards, and "Me and My Girls", which won Best Song to Rock Out to with Your BFFs Award at Radio Disney Music Awards.

In early 2014, the ladies confirmed reports claiming that they were working on their debut full-length album with record producers Julian Bunetta, Daylight, Joe London and multi-instrumentalist songwriter Ricky Reed. The album, titled "Reflection", was originally scheduled to arrive on December 16, 2014, but it was later pushed back to January 27, 2015.

It was preceded by lead single "Bo$$" that peaked at No. 43 on Billboard Hot 100. The song was followed by "Sledgehammer" which was penned by Meghan Trainor and "Worth It" that featured a guest verse from rapper Kid ink.

Bowing at No. 12 on Billboard Hot 100, "Worth It" was the group's biggest single until they released "Work From Home" in April 2016. Serving as the lead single off their sophomore album "7/27", the Ty Dolla $ign-assisted record reached No. 5 on the Hot 100. It became the first song by a female group to hit the top 10 in nearly a decade. Eight years ago, The Pussycat Dolls did so with "When I Grow Up".

"7/27" was released on May 27, 2016 after being pushed back from its original May 20 release date, debuting at No. 4 on Billboard 200. The effort marked the group's highest-charting album to date. A few months after its release, the album had sold 1.6 million units. Not wasting any time, the group embarked on tour starting June 22, visiting South America, North America and Europe, supported by Victoria Monet and JoJo. They later won two awards at MTV Video Music Awards for "Work From Home" and "All in My Head (Flex)" featuring Fetty Wap. They were also named the "hottest young starts" under 21 by Billboard that year.

Fifth Harmony performed their third single "That's My Girl" at the 2016 American Music Awards and brought home Collaboration of the Year Award for "Work From Home". By the end of the year, the group announced Camila Cabello's departure, saying that they would continue as a quartet.

They made their first appearance since Camila left the group at the 43rd People's Choice Awards in January 2017. They walked away with Favorite Group Award at the show for the second consecutive year. In May, Fifth Harmony announced their first single as a four-piece group, "Down". The Gucci Mane-assisted track arrived on June 2.

In July, during their appearance on "The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon", the group announced that their third studio album would be self-titled. In the same month, the girls were said to be feuding with their former bandmate Camila Cabello after the Cuban-born singer unfollowed them on social media.

"Fifth Harmony" will arrive on August 25, 2017. Two weeks ahead of the release, the group unleashed a new song called "Angel" along with its accompanying video. Just days after releasing "Angel", the group dominated music field at Teen Choice Awards with three awards. They nabbed Choice Song Group Award for "Down" and was named Choice Music Group and Choice Summer Group.