Ed Sheeran Biography

  • Ed Sheeran
    • Famous as : Singer, songwriter
    • Birth Name : Edward Christopher Sheeran
    • Birth Date : February 17, 1991
    • Birth Place : Halifax, West Yorkshire, England
    • Spouse : -
    • Claim to Fame : Album "Plus" (2011)

Ed Sheeran Bio, Life Story

Ed Sheeran is a force to reckon with. The British singer/songwriter claimed his fame with his debut album and immediately landed a very coveted spot as a Best New Artist nominee at the 56th annual Grammy Awards. He has since collaborated with big names like Taylor Swift and Snow Patrol.

Born Edward Christopher Sheeran on 17 February 1991 in Halifax, West Yorkshire, this redhead nurtured his talent and passion in music since he sang in a local church choir from the age of four. He began writing his own songs at high school and was accepted at the National Youth Theatre as a teenager. He moved from place to place after dropping out of school at age 16.

Sheeran started recording his music way back in 2005 and dropped his first independent EP, "The Orange Room". He moved from his hometown to London in 2008 and exercised his skills on stage by performing at various venues. By 2009 when his second EP "You Need Me" was out, he already played in more than 300 gigs.

The next year, he relocated to Los Angeles. With no contacts and no contracts, he promoted his music by playing open mic nights all over the city before eventually being spotted by Jamie Foxx. The actor was so impressed by Sheeran's talent that he offered the use of his recording studio and his Hollywood home for the rest of the singer's stay.

In 2011, Sheeran released another EP "No. 5 Collaborations Project" which went to climb to No. 2 on iTunes chart. As his fansbase grew, he was signed to Atlantic Records and started working on his first full-length album. "+" became his major-label debut with hit singles like "The A Team" and "Lego House".

The album peaked at No. 5 on Billboard Hot 200, and "The A Team" was nominated for Song of the Year. He was tapped to perform at the ceremony, collaborating with the legendary Elton John. "I got a call from Elton being like, 'I couldn't get you a solo slot, but would you mind playing with me?'," he recalled.

While working on his next studio installment, Sheeran recorded a theme song for "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug" called "I See Fire". He also wrote a song for One Direction. His own second album "X" is finally due June 23, 2014. He collaborated with Pharrell Williams, Rick Rubin, Benny Blanco,

Continue to page: 2

*/ if ($layoutType == 'mobile') { mb_bottomframe($kanal, $htmlfile, $brstatus); } ?>