Destiny's Child Biography

  • Destiny's Child
    • Famous as : R&B and pop group
    • Birth Name : GirlTyme
    • Birth Date : 1990
    • Birth Place : Houston, Texas, USA
    • Spouse : -
    • Claim to Fame : Single "No, No, No" (1998)

Destiny's Child Bio, Life Story

American R&B and pop group Destiny's Child was formed in Houston, Texas, in 1990. This urban quartet was formed by Beyonce Knowles (b. 4 September 1981, Houston, Texas, USA), LeToya Luckett (b. 11 March 1981, Houston, Texas, USA), LaTavia Roberson (b. 1 November 1981, Houston, Texas, USA) and Kelly Rowland (b. Kelendria Rowland, 11 February 1981, Atlanta, Georgia, USA).

Destiny's Child began its story when original members Beyoncé Knowles and LaTavia Roberson, both were just nine years old, met at an audition and became friends. Previously, Knowles and Roberson began singing together when they were only 10 years old, and thus Knowles' father Mathew started to think how to set about developing an act based on their singing and rapping, and came to the name Destiny's Child, which was taken from a passage in the Book of Isaiah. Later in 1992, Rowland came joining the duo.

Shortly after, the three of them landed an appearance on "Star Search," where they performed a rap song and spent the next few years working their way up from the Houston club scene, eventually opening for artists like SWV, Dru Hill, and Immature. Those performances earned them a strong local following with their street cool image and impressive vocal harmonies, which at the end led to their sign with Columbia Records in 1997. They then made their recording debut with the 1997's "Killing Time," which appeared on "Men In Black" soundtrack. The next year, in 1998, they released their self-titled debut that featured collaborations with leading R&B/hip-hop producers Timbaland, R. Kelly, Wyclef Jean and Missy "Misdemeanor" Elliott. The album lead single, the Jean-produced "No No No," became a smash hit, selling over a million copies and topping the R&B charts, and reached both the US and UK Top 10. The album follow up singles "With Me" and "Get on the Bus," on the contrary, weren't a success at all.

Responded to the last two singles failure, Destiny's Child quickly re-entered the studio, bringing in producer Kevin "She'kspere" Briggs to handle the majority of their next record. Its lead single "Bills, Bills, Bills" eventually became the group's first number one pop hit and second R&B number one in the summer of 1999, and paced by its success, the accompanying album "The Writing's on the Wall" entered US charts at number six in July 1999, and reached the UK Top 10 as well. To add the

Continue to page: 2

*/ if ($layoutType == 'mobile') { mb_bottomframe($kanal, $htmlfile, $brstatus); } ?>