'American Idol': Top 12 Is Revealed After Dramatic First Judges' Saves

After eliminating half of Top 20 through overnight voting, the long-running singing competition show sees the judges choosing two singers to round out the Top 12 of season 21.

AceShowbiz - "American Idol" introduced its season 21's Top 12 on Monday, April 24. After eliminating half of Top 20 through overnight voting, the long-running singing competition show saw the judges, Katy Perry, Luke Bryan and Lionel Richie, choosing two singers to round out the Top 12.

In the new episode, We Ani was revealed to be the first singer to make it to the Top 12. To celebrate the exciting result, she took the stage to perform "This Is Me" from "The Greatest Showman". Meanwhile, Michael Williams was told that he was the night's first artist in the danger zone. He hoped to convince the judges with a performance of "golden hour" by JVKE.

Joining Michael in the danger zone was Hannah Nicolaisen, who sang "Royals" by Lorde that night. Warren Peay was then announced as the second singer in the Top 12 and he hit the stage to sing 3 Doors Down's "It's Not My Time".

Mariah Faith, who was in the danger zone, sang The SteelDrivers' "If It Hadn't Been for Love", in the hope of saving herself. Meanwhile, Haven Madison belted out her original song "15" as she was sent to the next round.

Nailyah Serenity and Paige Anne were both revealed to be in danger and they performed "Alive" by Sia Furler and "I Am Here" by Pink respectively. Matt Wilson was also in jeopardy and he sang Giveon's "For Tonight" for survival.

As for Tyson Venegas, he joined the Top 12 and celebrated it by performing Elton John's classic "Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me". Colin Stough also got a good result and sang Robyn's "Dancing with My Own" in celebration. Host Ryan Seacrest then revealed that Marybeth Byrd was voted into the Top 12 and she offered a rendition of "Cover Me Up" by Morgan Wallen.

Everyone was later stunned to learn that Kaeyra was in the danger zone. Katy pleaded with America to vote for Kaeyra following the hopeful's performance of "If I Was Your Woman". Oliver Steele then performed "You're Still the One" by Shania Twain after being announced as the next safe artist, while Olivia Soli sang "God Is a Woman" by Ariana Grande to steal fans and the judges' hearts.

Iam Tongi and Zachariah Smith were revealed to be among the Top 12 singers and they sang Lionel's "Stuck On You" and Toto's "Hold the Line" respectively following the good news. Lucy Love, meanwhile, hoped to stay in the competition with a cover of "Radioactive" by Imagine Dragons.

Megan Danielle was the 10th artist in the Top 12, meaning Nutsa had to sing for survival. After Megan performed "Thank God I Do" by Lauren Daigle, Nutsa sang "And I Am Telling You I Am Not Going" by Jennifer Holliday.

It was time for the judges to reveal their picks. The judges eventually decided to give the final two spots to Lucy Love and Nutsa.

You can share this post!

You might also like
Related Posts