AMAs 2017: Niall Horan Is New Artist of the Year, Bruno Mars Wins Artist of the Year

During the event, Luis Fonsi, Daddy Yankee and Justin Bieber are also announced as the winner of Collaboration of the Year category for their hit song 'Despacito'.

AceShowbiz - The 2017 American Music Awards continued. The annual event kept viewers entertained with exciting performance by a bunch of A-list musicians in the line-up including a collaboration between Alessia Cara and Zedd. The duo performed a piano version of their hit song "Stay".

Afterwards, Lady GaGa was announced as the winner of Favorite Female Artist - Pop/Rock category by Ansel Elgort and Yara Shahidi. Clad in sexy blue bodysuit, GaGa was emotional when she received the award. She even told her crew to not leave the stage during her acceptance speech. "I feel so lucky. You just remember when you feel different or not understood, don't you dare give up on who you are," the songstress said.

Imagine Dragons and Khalid then graced the stage with their collaborative performance before Nick Cannon presented Niall Horan with the New Artist of the Year award. The "Slow Hand" crooner pushed aside James Arthur, Julia Michaels, Post Malone and Rae Sremmurd.

After receiving the trophy, Niall remarked that he couldn't believe he just won the award. "This is unbelievable. I'm honored to be put into the category with some of my friends, Post," Niall said, to which Post responded with a smile on his face as he raised his glass. The One Direction member then continued his speech by thanking his label, crew and fans.

Meanwhile, Linkin Park won Favorite Artist - Alternative Rock Award, defeating Imagine Dragons and last year's winner Twenty One Pilots. The group dedicated the award to the late Chester Bennington. "We want to dedicate this award to him, to his memory, to his talent, to his sense of humor, to his joy," they shared. "I want you guys to take a moment to appreciate what you've got and make Chester proud."

Laura Marano and "Midnight Sun" actor Patrick Schwarzenegger later took the stage to announce the next winner. The twosome presented Collaboration of the Year Award to Luis Fonsi, Daddy Yankee and Justin Bieber for their mega hit song "Despacito".

Later, Jared Leto presented Bruno Mars with the Artist of the Year Award. Unfortunately, the singer didn't attend the annual event so he sent a video message to thank his fans for the award. "I wish I can party with you guys, but unfortunately I'm millions away right now," he said.

You can share this post!

Related Posts