Critics' Choice TV Awards 2014: 'Orange is the New Black', 'Fargo' Are Big Winners

Critics' Choice TV Awards 2014: 'Orange is the New Black', 'Fargo' Are Big Winners

The Netflix comedy and the FX miniseries bag three trophies each, followed by AMC's drama 'Breaking Bad' and HBO's movie 'The Normal Heart' with two apiece.
TV stars gathered at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, Los Angeles on Thursday, June 19 to celebrate the best achievement in the industry at the 4th Annual Critics' Choice Television Awards. Presented by the Broadcast Television Journalists Association, the show which aired on The CW was hosted by Cedric the Entertainer.

The night saw "Orange is the New Black" and "Fargo" among the roster of winners. Both shows dominated the list with three each, with the former winning Best Comedy Series title over the likes of "The Big Bang Theory", "Louie" and "Veep".

Star Kate Mulgrew edged out castmate Laverne Cox as Best Supporting Actress in Comedy Series, but shared the title with "Mom" star Allison Janney, who also won Best Guest Performer in a Drama Series for her role on "Masters of Sex". "OITNB" added another trophy through Uzo Aduba, who was dubbed Best Guest Performer in a Comedy Series.

"Fargo", meanwhile, won Best Miniseries and Best Actor in a Movie or Miniseries for Billy Bob Thornton. Thornton beat out strong competitors which included his own co-star Martin Freeman, as well as the likes of Benedict Cumberbatch, Chiwetel Ejiofor and Mark Ruffalo. The FX crime drama nabbed its third prize that night through Allison Tolman's Best Supporting Actress win.

Other winners with multiple awards included "Breaking Bad", which won the coveted Best Drama Series in addition to helping Aaron Paul win Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series, and "The Normal Heart", which took home Best Movie and Best Supporting Actor in a Movie or Miniseries gong, the latter of which for Matthew Bomer's performance as Ruffalo's on-screen boyfriend.

Though losing the Best Drama title, "True Detective" picked up one as Matthew McConaughey was chosen as the Best Actor in a Drama Series. "Big Bang Theory" and "Veep" didn't come home empty-handed either, for Jim Parsons and Julia Louis-Dreyfus won Best Actor and Best Actress in a Comedy Series for their roles in respective show.

Tatiana Maslany ("Orphan Black") grabbed the Best Actress in a Drama Series, Jessica Lange ("American Horror Story: Coven") was named Best Actress in a Movie or Miniseries, and Bellamy Young ("Scandal") nabbed the Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series title.

At the awards-giving event, TV producer/writer Ryan Murphy was honored with Louis XIII Genius Award. The "Glee" creator and "Normal Heart" director poked fun at himself when delivering his acceptance speech, reading mean tweets about him. "Ryan Murphy is a genius ... at sucking," he read one of them. He additionally claimed that the advice he gave to young people was, "Surround yourself with more talented people ... and then take all the credit."

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image