2012 Juno Awards Nominations: Drake, Justin Bieber, Nickelback and More

2012 Juno Awards Nominations: Drake, Justin Bieber, Nickelback and More

The other nominees include Adele, Coldplay, Lady GaGa, LMFAO and Rihanna, all of whom are vying for International Album of the Year.
Nominees for 2012 Juno Awards have been announced at a press conference in Toronto. Canadian acts like Drake, Justin Bieber and Nickelback, along with Avril Lavigne and Michael Buble, are among the musicians who receive multiple nods this year.

Drizzy gets four nods, while Bieber is up for two. The rapper faces off the teen singer, Nickelback, Avril and Buble in Juno Fan Choice and Album of the Year, and competes with Buble once again in Artist of the Year. He receives his fourth nomination in Rap Recording.

Aside from those nods mentioned beforehand, the Chad Kroeger-fronted band additionally vie for Single of the Year and Group of the Year. Meanwhile, "What the Hell" singer Avril receives one more nod in Pop Album of the Year category.

In International Album of the Year, British pop sensation Adele is listed among the contenders, thanks to her groundbreaking album "21". She's pitted against the likes of Coldplay, Lady GaGa, LMFAO and Rihanna.

The winners will be announced at a live telecast on Sunday, April 1 at Scotiabank Place. William Shatner is tapped as a host, while Hedley, Nickelback, City and Colour, Deadmau5, Feist and Blue Rodeo are confirmed to perform.

Some of the nominations can be found in the following list. For full list, fans can visit Juno Awards official website.

Juno Fan Choice: Single of the Year:
  • City and Colour - "Fragile Bird"
  • Hedley - "Invincible"
  • Johnny Reid - "Let's Go Higher"
  • Nickelback - "When We Stand Together"
  • The Sheepdogs - "I Don't Know"
International Album of the Year: Album of the Year: Artist of the Year: Group of the Year: New Artist of the Year:
  • Alyssa Reid
  • Dan Mangan
  • Diamond Rings
  • JRDN
  • Lindi Ortega
New Group of the Year:
  • Braids
  • Hey Rosetta!
  • Mother Mother
  • The Rural Alberta Advantage
  • The Sheepdogs
Adult Alternative Album of the Year:
  • Cuff The Duke - "Morning Comes"
  • Feist - "Metals"
  • Jenn Grant - "Honeymoon Punch"
  • Jim Cuddy - "Skyscraper Soul"
  • Ron Sexsmith - "Long Player Late Bloomer"
Alternative Album of the Year:
  • Braids - "Native Speaker"
  • Dan Mangan - "Oh Fortune"
  • Destroyer - "Kaputt"
  • Fucked Up - "David Comes to Life"
  • Timber Timbre - "Creep on Creepin' on"
Pop Album of the Year: Rock Album of the Year:
  • Arkells - "Michigan Left"
  • Matthew Good - "Lights of Endangered Species"
  • Sam Roberts Band - "Collider"
  • Sloan - "The Double Cross"
  • The Sheepdogs - "Learn & Burn"

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image