Miranda Lambert Leads First Wave of CMA Awards Nominations With Five Nods

Miranda Lambert

Following Miranda Lambert's five-nod domination is Lady Antebellum who grab four nominations, including Vocal Group of the Year.
The first batch of this year's Country Music Association (CMA) Awards nominations has been revealed on Tuesday morning, August 31. Justin Moore and Chris Young presented the nominees in a press conference at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, announcing that Miranda Lambert is on the lead with five nods.

Lambert gets double nominations in both Single of the Year and Music Video of the Year, thanks to "The House That Built Me" and "White Liar". In the first category, she is vying against Easton Corbin, Blake Shelton and Lady Antebellum. Meanwhile, she is competing against Brad Paisley in addition to Shelton and Antebellum in the latter field.

The country music beauty's fifth nod, Song of the Year, is received for her co-songwriting work in single "White Liar". Although "The House That Built Me" also appears in this field, it is Tom Douglas, not her, who is listed as a nominee along with Allen Shamblin for they are the ones who pen the song.

Following Miranda Lambert's domination is Lady Antebellum with four nominations. Beside having a chance to win Song of the Year and Music Video of the Year prizes, they are also up for Vocal Group of the Year along with Little Big Town, Rascal Flatts, The Band Perry and Zac Brown Band. On top of that, they once again face off Lambert in Song of the Year, thanks to their songwriting in "Need You Now".

Before the artists nominees were announced, Steel Magnolia read radio finalists of CMA Broadcast Awards and sang "Just by Being You (Halos and Wings)". During the press conference, Moore and Young also made live performances, delivering "How I Got to Be This Way" and "Gettin' You Home (The Black Dress Song)" respectively.

Celebrating its 44th annual ceremony, CMA Awards will be held on November 10 at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville with Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley taking the hosting duty for the third time. Following the Tuesday's nominations announcement, Miranda Lambert and Dierks Bentley will unveil the remaining five categories on September 1 on "Good Morning America".

New Artist of the Year: Vocal Group of the Year: Vocal Duo of the Year: Single of the Year: Song of the Year: Music Video of the Year: Musician of the Year:
  • Paul Franklin - Steel Guitar
  • Dann Huff - Guitar
  • Brent Mason - Guitar
  • Mac McAnally - Guitar
  • Randy Scruggs - Guitar

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image