2009 ACM Awards: Taylor Swift Grabs Album of the Year

Taylor Swift was honored with Album of the Year, while Trace Adkins took home Single Record of the Year at this year's Academy of Country Music Awards.

AceShowbiz - Winners of the 44th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards keep pouring in. This time, Taylor Swift, who also performed at the event, bagged Album of the Year trophy for her effort "Fearless". Her sophomore set beat down such contenders as Jamey Johnson's "That Lonesome Song", Montgomery Gentry's "Back When I Knew It All", George Strait's "Troubadour" and Carrie Underwood's "Carnival Ride".

"If I talked with you for more than five minutes, I probably wrote a song about you," Taylor said during her acceptance speech after previously hugging fellow country music singer Kellie Pickler, who was sitting next to her on the audience seat. "I'd like to thank all the characters in my songs."

Trace Adkins also came out victorious at the award. He received a prize for Single Record of the Year, thanks to his single "You're Gonna Miss This". "I didn't expect this," he admitted in front of the audience attending the ceremony at MGM Grand Garden Arena on April 5. "I really didn't."

"This song was recording by a father whose oldest daughter had just gotten married. It was very personal for me, and I didn't think other people would relate to it the way that I did," Trace continued. He said that he did not expect the track to be released as a single, until Mike Dungan from Capitol Records told him it would be. "Go ahead, ain't nobody gonna play it," Adkins added. "I'm glad I'm an idiot."

2009 ACM Awards : Winners List | Photo Gallery

You can share this post!

Related Posts