Tobey Maguire and Kristen Wiig Lay Claim to 'The Spoils of Babylon'


Tobey Maguire and Kristen Wiig Lay Claim to 'The Spoils of Babylon'


The 'Great Gatsby' actor and the 'Saturday Night Live' alumna will star opposite Will Ferrell on the IFC miniseries.

Will Ferrell's "The Spoils of Babylon" has tapped two A-list stars to take the lead roles. Tobey Maguire and Kristen Wiig have been cast on the IFC miniseries, starring alongside the "Anchorman" actor who will also produce the show with Adam McKay.

An adaptation of a best-selling epic novel by fictional famous author Eric Jonrosh, the project is dubbed "an epic story in the vein of 'The Thorn Birds' and 'Winds of War'." The story "spans three generations, taking viewers from the oil fields of Texas to boardrooms in New York City, through world war battlefields and velvet sheeted bedrooms."

"As the story unfolds, the booze, the passion and the heartache lead to illegal arms deals and international espionage with the Shah of Iran (played by Ferrell), not to mention the creation of the doomed sub-prime market."

Maguire will play Devon Morehouse, an orphan who is raised by future oil magnate Jonas Morehouse. Wiig will portray Jonas' daughter, Cynthia. Devon and Cynthia will run Morehouse Enterprises, the seventh largest company in the world, together while fighting their feelings for each other.

"The Spoils of Babylon" is slated to air as six half-hour episodes in late 2013. Andrew Steele co-wrote the script with Matt Piedmont, who will also direct the miniseries.

Tobey Maguire will next be seen in Baz Luhrmann's "The Great Gatsby" set for a May 10 U.S. release. Wiig, meanwhile, has lent her voice in "Despicable Me 2" and will co-star Ferrell in "Anchorman: The Legend Continues".

© AceShowbiz.com


MORE FROM NEWS

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

   

TODAY'S HEADLINES

  1. Report: Drake Is Actually Gay and His Rihanna Romance Is Fake
  2. Audrina Patridge Shares Sweet Photo of Her Breastfeeding Her Daughter
  3. Did Faith Evans Just Expose Her Vagina in Front of the Crowd? See the Evidence!
  4. Rob Kardashian Tweets Kylie's Number as He Blasts His Family for Snubbing Blac Chyna
  5. North West Serves as Flower Girl at a Wedding and Dances Adorably at the Party
  6. Angelina Jolie Reportedly Turns to Johnny Depp Amid Brad Pitt Divorce
  7. Orlando Bloom and Malin Akerman Have Steamy Threesome on Netflix's 'Easy'
  8. Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie Do Have a Pre-Nup. So, Who's the Big Winner?
  9. Taylor Swift Debuts New Haircut, Parties With Gwyneth Paltrow, Mick Jagger at Liberty Ross' Birthday
  10. Cathriona White's Letter Reveals Jim Carrey Called Her a 'Whore' and Gave Her STDs

CELEBS PHOTO