BIFAs Uncovers 2009 Nominees

Andrea Arnold's 'Fish Tank' leads the nomination of the 12th British Independent Film Awards, followed by Duncan Jones' 'Moon' and Lone Scherfig's 'An Education' among others.
Which movies are vying for the 12th annual British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs) have been unraveled on Monday, October 26 at Soho House in London with the announcement of 2009 nominees. Receiving the most nods was "Fish Tank", an Andrea Arnold's drama that won the Jury Prize at the 62nd Cannes Film Festival.

The movie revolving around the turbulent relationship a 15-year-old girl has with her mother and her new boyfriend has collected 8 nominations in total. Vying for the major categories including best British film, best director and best screenplay, it also placed its leading actress Katie Jarvis in competition for best actress and most promising newcomers.

Following behind "Fish Tank" with seven noms was Duncan Jones' sci-fi thriller "Moon". "An Education", "In the Loop" and "Nowhere Boy", in the meantime, gathered six counts each. Other movies with multiple nominations were "Bright Star" with four, "Katalin Varga" with three, and "Bronson" and "Bunny & The Bull" with two each.

Detailing on the selection of the nominees, BIFA directors Johanna von Fischer and Tessa Collinson said that BIFA pre-selection committee of 70 members viewing more than 200 films, out of which they selected the nominations, decided by ballot. They added, "We have had a record number of films submitted this year, with the pre-selection committee viewing over 200 films. A highlight from the nominations is the very strong debut director category."

The gala ceremony for the 12th BIFAs will take place at The Brewery, Chiswell Street in London on Sunday, December 6. It will be hosted by James Nesbitt and see Daniel Day-Lewis being honored with the Richard Harris Award for Outstanding Contribution to British Film by an Actor. The recipients of the Variety Award and the Special Jury Prize are yet to be announced. The latter will be unveiled during the December 6 ceremony.

List of Nominees for the 12th annual British Independent Film Awards:

Best British Independent Film:

"An Education"
"Fish Tank"
"In The Loop"
"Nowhere Boy"

Best Director:

Andrea Arnold, "Fish Tank"
Armando Iannucci, "In The Loop"
Duncan Jones, "Moon"
Jane Campion, "Bright Star"
Lone Scherfig, "An Education"

The Douglas Hickox Award [Best Debut Director]:

Armando Iannucci, "In The Loop"
Duncan Jones, "Moon"
Peter Strickland, "Katalin Varga"
Sam Taylor Wood, "Nowhere Boy"
Samantha Morton, "The Unloved"

Best Screenplay:

"An Education" by Nick Hornby
"Fish Tank" by Andrea Arnold
"In The Loop" by Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche
"Moon" by Nathan Parker
"Nowhere Boy" by Matt Greenhalgh

Best Actress:

Abbie Cornish, "Bright Star"
Carey Mulligan, "An Education"
Emily Blunt, "The Young Victoria"
Katie Jarvis, "Fish Tank"
Sophie Okonedo, "Skin"

Best Actor:

Aaron Johnson, "Nowhere Boy"
Andy Serkis, "Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll"
Peter Capaldi, "In The Loop"
Sam Rockwell, "Moon"
Tom Hardy, "Bronson"

Best Supporting Actress:

Anne-Marie Duff, "Nowhere Boy"
Kerry Fox, "Bright Star"
Kierston Wareing, "Fish Tank"
Kristin Scott Thomas, "Nowhere Boy"
Rosamund Pike, "An Education"

Best Supporting Actor:

Alfred Molina, "An Education"
Jim Broadbent, "The Damned United"
John Henshaw, "Looking for Eric"
Michael Fassbender, "Fish Tank"
Tom Hollander, "In The Loop"

Most Promising Newcomer:

Christian McKay, "Me and Orson Welles"
Edward Hogg, "White Lightnin'"
George MacKay, "The Boys Are Back"
Hilda Peter, "Katalin Varga"
Katie Jarvis, "Fish Tank"

Best Achievement in Production:

"Bunny & The Bull"
"The Hide"
"The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus"
"Katalin Varga"

Raindance Award:

"The Disappearance of Alice Creed"
"Down Terrace"
"They Call It Acid"

Best Technical Achievement:

"Bright Star" for Cinematography by Greig Fraser
"Bunny & The Bull" for Production Design by Gary Williamson
"Fish Tank" for Cinematography by Robbie Ryan
"Moon" for Original Score by Clint Mansell
"Moon" for Production Design by Tony Noble

Best Documantary:

"The Age of Stupid"
"The End of The Line"
"Mugabe and The White African"
"Sons of Cuba"
"Sounds Like Teen Spirit"

Best British Short:

"Christmas with Dad"
"Love You More"
"Sidney Turtlebaum"

Best Foreign Film:

"Il Divo"
"The Hurt Locker"
"Let the Right One In (2008)"
"Sin Nombre"
"The Wrestler"

The Richard Harris Award (for outstanding contribution to British Film): Daniel Day-Lewis

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image