K-Pop Group SuperM's Self-Titled Album Arrives Atop Billboard 200

Trailing behind the boyband's debut album is Summer Walker's 'Over It' that debuts at No. 2 with 134,000 units, marking the biggest sales week for an R'n'B album by a woman in over three years.

AceShowbiz - SuperM is living up to people's expectation. The group, who is labeled as the "avengers" in the K-Pop industry, claims their first No. 1 album on Billboard 200 with their self-titled debut effort. Released on Friday, October 4, the record arrives atop the weekly chart after racking up 168,000 units in the week ending October 10, according to Nielsen Music.

Of that sum, 164,000 were in traditional album sales, which is likely not surprising since the album has more than 60 merchandise/album bundles available to purchase through their web stores. In addition to that, the effort comes with a concert ticket/album sale redemption offer and eight different CD variants of the album. Considering the group is consisted of some members from popular K-Pop boybands EXO, SHINee and NCT, the offer might be very appealing to fans.

Trailing behind SuperM at No. 2 is Summer Walker's first album "Over It", which debuts with 134,000 equivalent album units. This marks the biggest sales week for an R&B album by a female artist in over three years, when Beyonce Knowles' "Lemonade" racked up 202,000 units in May 2016. "Over It" also marks the larges streaming week ever for an R&B album by a woman since "Lemonade" as the album garnered 154,7 million on-demand audio streams.

The rest of the top ten are mostly filled with former No. 1 albums. Post Malone's "Hollywood's Bleeding" descends to No. 3 with 108,000 units, while DaBaby's "Kirk" has to give up its top spot by jumping down to No. 4 with 75,000 units. On the other hand, Taylor Swift's "Lover" holds its No. 5 position with 51,000 units.

Chris Brown's "Indigo" returns to the top ten at No. 6 with 39,000 units, followed by Billie Eilish's "When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?". The songstress' debut album is stays steady at No. 7 with 38,000 units. At No. 8, Kevin Gates' "I'm Him" falls four spots in its second week with just over 36,000 units.

Rounding out the chart for this week are a new entry, Brantley Gilbert's "Fire & Brimstone", as well as Young Thug's "So Much Fun". While the country singer's effort debuts at No. 9 with 36,000 units, the rapper's latest album moves down to No. 10 with 35,000 units.

  1. "SuperM" - SuperM (168,000 units)
  2. "Over It" - Summer Walker (138,000 units)
  3. "Hollywood's Bleeding" - Post Malone (108,000 units)
  4. "Kirk" - DaBaby (75,000 units)
  5. "Lover" - Taylor Swift (51,000 units)
  6. "Indigo" - Chris Brown (39,000 units)
  7. "When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?" - Billie Eilish (38,000 units)
  8. "I'm Him" - Kevin Gates (just over 36,000 units)
  9. "Fire & Brimstone" - Brantley Gilbert (36,000 units)
  10. "So Much Fun" - Young Thug (35,000 units)

You can share this post!