Jonas Brothers' 'Happiness Begins' Sets This Year's Biggest Debut on Billboard 200

Racking up 414,000 equivalent album units in its first week, the three-piece pop band's comeback album has also become their third No. 1 album on the weekly chart.

AceShowbiz - Jonas Brothers' reunion is truly something that people have been anticipating the most. Their comeback album, "Happiness Begins", debuts atop the Billboard 200 chart. Hitting the stores on June 7 via Republic Records, the album sold 414,000 equivalent album units, including 357,000 in traditional album sales, in the week ending June 13, according to Nielsen Music.

In addition to becoming their third No. 1 album on the weekly chart, "Happiness Begins" marks the biggest week for an album this year and since Lil Wayne's "Tha Carter V" sold 480,000 units in October 2018. Furthermore, it nabs the largest sales week for an album since Taylor Swift's "Reputation" bowed with 1.22 million units as well as the largest week for an album by a group in more than three years. One Direction previously held that title with their "Made in the A.M." album, which racked up 459,000 units in December 2015.

Other records that Jonas Brothers breaks include biggest sales week in more than a decade, biggest week for a pop album in two years and biggest streaming album of the week. Celebrating the win, the brothers have since posted on the band's official Instagram account a thank you video to their fans for their support.

Back to this week's Billboard 200 chart, Billie Eilish's "When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?" holds its No. 2 position with 59,000 units, followed by Santana's "Africa Speaks". The rock band's album arrives at No. 3 with 57,000 units, marking their 15th top ten album. Another newcomer on this week chart is Luke Combs' "The Prequel" EP which launches at No. 4 with 48,000 units. Future's "Save Me", meanwhile, debuts at No. 5 with 42,000 units.

Polo G's "Die a Legend" is the last newcomer on the chart, driving in at No. 6 with 38,000 units. Khalid's "Free Spirit" trails behind the rapper's debut album at No. 7 with 36,000 units, while DJ Khaled's "Father of Asahd" slips to No. 8 with 31,000 units. DaBaby's "Baby on Baby" falls one spot to No. 9 with 29,000 units as Elton John's greatest hits album "Diamonds" rounds out the top ten with nearly 29,000 units.

  1. "Happiness Begins" - Jonas Brothers (414,000 units)
  2. "When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?" - Billie Eilish (59,000 units)
  3. "Africa Speaks" - Santana (57,000 units)
  4. "The Prequel" - Luke Combs (48,000 units)
  5. "Save Me" - Future (42,000 units)
  6. "Die a Legend" - Polo G (38,000 units)
  7. "Free Spirit" - Khalid (36,000 units)
  8. "Father of Asahd" - DJ Khaled (31,000 units)
  9. "Baby on Baby" - DaBaby (29,000 units)
  10. "Diamonds" - Elton John (nearly 29,000 units)

You can share this post!

You might also like
Related Posts