'Star Wars: The Force Awakens' Leads Movie Nominees of 2016 Saturn Awards

Honoring last year's best sci-fi, fantasy and horror films, the awards show gives recognition to Daisy Ridley, Harrison Ford, Lupita Nyong'o and John Boyega.

AceShowbiz - On Wednesday, February 24, the nominees of 2016 Saturn Awards were announced live over on YouTube. In the movie categories, "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" leads this year's list with 15 nominations, followed by "Mad Max: Fury Road" and "Crimson Peak" with 9 each.

Among the nominations that the latest "Star Wars" installment nabs are Best Directing for J.J. Abrams, Best Supporting Actress for Lupita Nyong'o and Carrie Fisher, as well as Best Supporting Actor for John Boyega and Adam Driver. Meanwhile, leads Daisy Ridley and Harrison Ford pick up an acting nomination each.

Colin Trevorrow's "Jurassic World" is nominated in seven categories including a Performance by a Young Actor for Ty Simpkins. Other sci-fi, fantasy and horror films getting multiple nominations are "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and "Ant-Man".

The 42nd Annual Saturn Awards will be handed out in a ceremony held in June in Burbank. The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films will also honor the best television series at the event.

2016 Saturn Awards Nominations in Film:

Best Fantasy Film

Best Action Adventure Film Best Thriller Film Best Horror Film Best Supporting Actor Best Supporting Actress Best Performance by a Young Actor Best International Film Best Actress Best Actor Best Film Director Best Film Writing Best Film Editing Best Film Production Design Best Film Music Best Film Costume Design Best Film Make-Up Best Film Special / Visual Effects

You can share this post!

You might also like
Related Posts