Three Advance to 'American Idol' Top 12

Three Advance to 'American Idol' Top 12

The first three 'American Idol' season 8 contestants who move to the next round have been determined through online voting.
The first three finalists of "American Idol" season 8 have been picked. In a live result show on February 18, host Ryan Seacrest announced that 24 million votes had been cast the day before and three had gained the most (highest male vote-getter, highest female vote-getter and next highest vote-getter). They are Alexis Grace, Michael Sarver and Danny Gokey.

Alexis sang "Never Loved a Man" by Aretha Franklin and was deemed "the best one so far" by Simon Cowell. Michael, the oil rig guy, gave his rendition of Gavin DeGraw's "I Don't Wanna Be" while Danny who performed the last, delivered "Hero" by Mariah Carey. All three secure a stool in the Top 12 and therefore will be back performing as finalists on Tuesday, March 10.

Subsequently, those not making it to the next round are Ricky Braddy, Jackie Tohn, Anoop Desai, Tatiana Del Toro, Anne Marie Boskovich, Brent Keith, Casey Carlson, Stevie Wright and Stephen Fowler. One of these people will be brought back to the competition during the wild card round on Thursday, March 5. The judges will select one who didn't get the America's vote, but they think deserve another chance.

Also in the result show, finalists from previous season, Michael Johns and Carly Smithson performed a duet as the mid show break, singing "The Letter".

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image