'1917' Picks Up Top Honor at 2020 ASC Awards
Universal Pictures

Having landed the Directors Guild of America kudo, the epic First World War film by director Sam Mendes brings home award for its cinematographer Roger Deakins.

AceShowbiz - British director Sam Mendes' "1917" has emerged as an Oscars front-runner after landing both the Directors Guild of America and American Society of Cinematographers top prizes over the weekend.

Visionary Roger Deakins picked up the top award at the 34th annual ASC Awards, as Mendes collected the Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film honour for the war epic at the DGA Awards on Saturday, January 25.

There were also wins at the ASC Awards for TV drama "The Handmaid's Tale" (Best Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television), "The Terror: Infamy" (Best TV Motion Picture, Miniseries, Pilot), and "Honeyland" (Documentary Award).

Filmmaker Werner Herzog received the ASC's Board of Governors Award, and dedicated the trophy to the cinematographers with whom he has worked, while Frederick Elmes received the Lifetime Achievement Award, Donald A. Morgan was honoured with the Career Achievement in Television Award, Bruno Delbonnel received the International Award, and Don McCuaig was the recipient of the Presidents Award.

Here are the winners for the 34th annual ASC Awards:

  • Best Theatrical Release: Roger Deakins - "1917" (Universal)
  • Best Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television: Colin Watkinson "The Handmaid's Tale", "Night" (Hulu)
  • Spotlight Award: Jarin Blaschke - "The Lighthouse" (A24)
  • Best TV Motion Picture, Miniseries, Pilot: John Conroy - "The Terror: Infamy", "A Sparrow in a Swallow's Nest" (AMC)
  • Best Episode of a Series for Commercial Television: Kim Miles - "Project Blue Book", "The Flatwoods Monster" (History)
  • Documentary Award: Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma - "Honeyland"
  • Board of Governors Award: Werner Herzog
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Frederick Elmes
  • Career Achievement in Television Award: Donald A. Morgan
  • International Award: Bruno Delbonnel
  • Presidents Award: Don McCuaig
  • Bud Stone Award: Kim Snyder, CEO, Panavision
  • Honorary ASC Award: Patty Armacost

You can share this post!

Related Posts