'1917' Wins Seven Nods at 2020 BAFTA Awards
Universal Pictures

The World War I movie dominates the 2020 British Academy Film Awards (BAFTAs), collecting a total of seven nods including Best Film and Best Director for Sam Mendes.

AceShowbiz - Sam Mendes' First World War epic "1917" was the big winner at the 2020 British Academy Film Awards (BAFTAs) on Sunday night, February 2 2020.

The movie, which follows two British servicemen crossing enemy lines to deliver a vital message, won seven BAFTAs in total - Best Film, Outstanding British Film, and a Best Director gong for Mendes, as well as prizes for cinematography, sound, special visual effects, and production design.

"Joker" star Joaquin Phoenix claimed the Best Leading Actor prize at Royal Albert Hall ceremony in London, while the Best Leading Actress award went to Renee Zellweger for her performance as Judy Garland in the biopic "Judy", boosting their chances of Oscars glory next weekend, February 9, 2020.

Supporting acting honours went to Brad Pitt for "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood", and Laura Dern for "Marriage Story".

"Joker", Todd Phillips' dark origin story for the DC Comics supervillain, led all nominees with 11 ahead of the event, but only bagged two other BAFTAs in addition to Phoenix's win - for Best Original Score and Best Casting.

Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin-won's script for "Parasite" landed the Best Original Screenplay title, while Taika Waititi's "Jojo Rabbit" was named Best Adapted Screenplay. "Parasite" also triumphed in the Best Film Not in the English Language category.

Netflix's festive adventure "Klaus" won Best Animated Film, and "For Sama" was named Best Documentary.

"Blue Story" star Micheal Ward won the public-voted EE Rising Star Award, following in the footsteps of past winners Tom Holland, Kristen Stewart, Tom Hardy, John Boyega, and 2019 victor Letitia Wright.

Andy Serkis collected an Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema accolade, while Lucasfilm president Kathleen Kennedy was honoured with a BAFTA Fellowship.

The 2020 BAFTAs were hosted by U.K. chat show host Graham Norton.

The full list of winners is as follows:

  • Best Film: "1917"
  • Outstanding British Film: "1917"
  • Best Director: Sam Mendes - "1917"
  • Best Leading Actor: Joaquin Phoenix - "Joker"
  • Best Leading Actress: Renee Zellweger - "Judy"
  • Best Supporting Actress: Laura Dern - "Marriage Story"
  • Best Supporting Actor: Brad Pitt - "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood"
  • EE Rising Star Award: Micheal Ward
  • Best Original Screenplay: "Parasite - Han Jin Won, Bong Joon Ho
  • Best Adapted Screenplay: Taika Waititi - "Jojo Rabbit"
  • Best Casting: Shayna Markowitz - "Joker"
  • Animated Film: "Klaus"
  • Best Original Score: Hildur Gudnadottir - "Joker"
  • Best Documentary: "For Sama"
  • Best Film Not in the English Language: "Parasite"
  • Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins - "1917"
  • Best Special Visual Effects: Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, and Dominic Tuohy - "1917"
  • Best Production Design: Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales - "1917"
  • Best Costume Design: Jacqueline Durran - "Little Women"
  • Best Makeup and Hair: Vivian Baker - "Bombshell"
  • Best Sound: Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, and Stuart Wilson - "1917"
  • Best Editing: Michael McCusker and Andrew Buckland - "Le Mans '66 (aka Ford v Ferrari)"
  • Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer: Mark Jenkin (writer/director), Kate Byers, and Linn Waite (Producers) - "Bait"
  • Best British Short Film: "Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You're a Girl)"
  • Best British Short Animation: "Granddad Was a Romantic"
  • BAFTA Fellowship: Kathleen Kennedy
  • Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema: Andy Serkis

You can share this post!

You might also like
Related Posts