2011 WGA Awards Nominees in TV Announced

'Modern Family' and '30 Rock' show domination in the comedy category while 'The Walking Dead' takes a nod in new series.

AceShowbiz - Writers Guild of America has announced the writers who receive nominations at next year's awards for their work in television. The most nod that one show gets is three, and that number is claimed by "Modern Family", "30 Rock" and "Breaking Bad".

"Modern Family" and "30 Rock", which have won Emmys, will be up against each other in comedy series and have each received two nods for episodic category. Meanwhile, "Breaking Bad" takes a nod in drama field and two additional episodic nominations.

AMC's "The Walking Dead" is vying for new series prize, battling "Boardwalk Empire", "Justified", "Treme" and "Men of a Certain Age" along the way. "Empire" in particular is also nominated for drama series against older and more prominent shows like "Mad Men" and "Dexter".

The WGA Awards will hand out the prizes in a ceremony held February 5 in Los Angeles and New York. Partial list of nominations can be found after the jump while the complete list is available at WGA.org.

Drama series

  • "Boardwalk Empire," written by Meg Jackson, Lawrence Konner, Howard Korder, Steve Kornacki, Margaret Nagle, Tim Van Patten, Paul Simms, Terence Winter. HBO
  • "Breaking Bad," written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Tom Schnauz, John Shiban, Moira Walley-Beckett; AMC
  • "Dexter," written by Scott Buck, Manny Coto, Charles H. Eglee, Lauren Gussis, Chip Johannessen, Jim Leonard, Clyde Phillips, Scott Reynolds, Melissa Rosenberg, Tim Schlattmann, Wendy West; Showtime
  • "Friday Night Lights," written by Bridget Carpenter, Kerry Ehrin, Ron Fitzgerald, Etan Frankel, Monica Henderson, David Hudgins, Rolin Jones, Jason Katims, Patrick Massett, Derek Santos Olson, John Zinman; NBC
  • "Mad Men," written by Jonathan Abrahams, Lisa Albert, Keith Huff, Jonathan Igla, Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Brett Johnson, Janet Leahy, Erin Levy, Tracy McMillan, Dahvi Waller, Matthew Weiner; AMC
Comedy series
  • "30 Rock," written by Jack Burditt, Hannibal Buress, Kay Cannon, Robert Carlock, Tom Ceraulo, Vali Chandrasekaran, Tina Fey, Jon Haller, Steve Hely, Matt Hubbard, Dylan Morgan, Paula Pell, John Riggi, Josh Siegal, Ron Weiner, Tracey Wigfield; NBC
  • "Glee," written by Ian Brennan, Brad Falchuk, Ryan Murphy; Fox
  • "Modern Family," written by Jerry Collins, Paul Corrigan, Alex Herschlag, Abraham Higginbotham, Elaine Ko, Joe Lawson, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Dan O'Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Brad Walsh, Ilana Wernick, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker; ABC
  • "Nurse Jackie," written by Liz Brixius, Rick Cleveland, Nancy Fichman, Liz Flahive, Jennifer Hoppe-House, Mark Hudis, Linda Wallem, Christine Zander; Showtime
  • "The Office," written by Jennifer Celotta, Daniel Chun, Greg Daniels, Lee Eisenberg, Brent Forrester, Amelie Gillette, Charlie Grandy, Steve Hely, Jonathan A. Hughes, Mindy Kaling, Carrie Kemper, Jason Kessler, Paul Lieberstein, Warren Lieberstein, B.J. Novak, Peter Ocko, Robert Padnick, Aaron Shure, Justin Spitzer, Gene Stupnitsky, Halsted Sullivan, Jon Vitti; NBC
New series
  • "Boardwalk Empire," written by Meg Jackson, Lawrence Konner, Howard Korder, Steve Kornacki, Margaret Nagle, Tim Van Patten, Paul Simms, Terence Winter; HBO
  • "Justified," written by Dave Andron, Wendy Calhoun, Benjamin Cavell, Fred Golan, Gary Lennon, Benjamin Daniel Lobato, Chris Provenzano, Graham Yost; FX
  • "Men of a Certain Age," written by Bridget Bedard, Warren Hutcherson, Rick Muirragui, Jack Orman, Ray Romano, Mike Royce, Lew Schneider, Mark Stegemann; TNT
  • "Treme," written by Lolis Eric Elie, David Mills, Eric Overmyer, George Pelecanos, Tom Piazza, Davis Rogan, David Simon; HBO
  • "The Walking Dead," written by Frank Darabont; Charles H. Eglee, Robert Kirkman, Jack LoGiudice, Glen Mazzara; AMC
Episodic drama: any length - one airing time
  • "Boom" ("The Good Wife"), written by Ted Humphrey; CBS
  • "The Chrysanthemum and the Sword" ("Mad Men"), written by Erin Levy; AMC
  • "The End"("Lost"), written by Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse; ABC
  • "Help Me" ("House M.D."), written by Russel Friend & Garrett Lerner & Peter Blake; Fox
  • "I.F.T." ("Breaking Bad"), written by George Mastras; AMC
  • "I See You" ("Breaking Bad"), written by Gennifer Hutchison; AMC
Episodic comedy: any length - one airing time
  • "Anna Howard Shaw Day" ("30 Rock"), written by Matt Hubbard; NBC
  • "Earthquake" ("Modern Family"), written by Paul Corrigan & Brad Walsh; ABC
  • "Nightmayor" ("The Sarah Silverman Program"), written by Dan Sterling; Comedy Central
  • "Starry Night" ("Modern Family"), written by Danny Zuker; ABC
  • "When It Rains, It Pours" ("30 Rock"), written by Robert Carlock; NBC
  • "Wuphf.com" ("The Office"), written by Aaron Shure; NBC
Long form - original: over one hour - one or two parts, one or two airing times

You can share this post!

Related Posts