Full Nominations List of 2011 Independent Spirit Awards

Full Nominations List of 2011 Independent Spirit Awards

Oscar favorites '127 Hours' and 'Black Swan' are up against each other in Best Feature category, while 'Winter's Bone' dominates the full list with 7 nods.
The nominations of 2011 Film Independent Spirit Awards have been announced on Tuesday, November 30 in Los Angeles by Jeremy Renner and Eva Mendes. And some movies which have received Oscar buzz such as "127 Hours" and "Black Swan" are touted for Best Feature at the upcoming Spirit Awards.

For this title, the two movies will fight against "Greenberg", "The Kids Are All Right" and "Winter's Bone". The latest mentioned flick, which is fresh from grabbing two kudos at Gotham Independent Film Awards, has a chance to be a big winner at Spirits Awards since it takes the most nods.

The drama leads Debra Granik to be a contender for Best Director prize. She will face a tight competition with Darren Aronofsky, Danny Boyle in addition to Lisa Cholodenko and John Cameron Mitchell for this title.

The cast including Jennifer Lawrence, Dale Dickey and John Hawkes are additionally up for Best Female Lead, Best Supporting Female and Best Supporting Male respectively. More notable actresses Annette Bening, Greta Gerwig, Nicole Kidman, Natalie Portman and Michelle Williams will challenge Lawrence to get her Spirit Award.

The other nods for "Winter's Bone" are obtained from Best Screenplay and Best Cinematography categories.

In Best Male lead, "127 Hours" actor James Franco will battle it out with Aaron Eckhart ("Rabbit Hole"), Ronald Bronstein ("Daddy Longlegs"), John C. Reilly ("Cyrus") and Ben Stiller ("Greenberg"). In the meantime, "Please Give" has been picked as a recepient of Robert Altman Award.

The winners of upcoming Independent Spirit Awards will be unveiled at a ceremony held on February 26 in Santa Monica. Tapped to serve as the host is "Community" star Joel McHale.

Full Nominations List of 2011 Film Independent Spirit Awards:

Best Feature: Best Director: Best Screenplay: Best Female Lead: Best Male Lead: Best Supporting Female: Best Supporting Male: Best Documentary: Best Foreign Film:
  • "Kisses" (Ireland)
  • "Mademoiselle Chambon" (France)
  • "Of Gods and Men" (Morocco)
  • "The King's Speech" (United Kingdom)
  • "Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives" (Thailand)
Best Cinematography: Best First Feature: Best First Screenplay: John Cassavetes Award:
  • "Daddy Longlegs"; Writer/Directors: Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie, Producers: Casey Neistat, Tom Scott
  • "Lbs."; Director: Matthew Bonifacio, Writer/Producers: Matthew Bonifacio, Carmine Famiglietti
  • "Lovers of Hate"; Writer/Director: Bryan Poyser, Producer: Megan Gilbride
  • "Obselidia"; Writer/Director: Diane Bell, Producers: Chris Byrne, Mathew Medlin
  • "The Exploding Girl"; Writer/Director: Bradley Rust Gray, Producers: Karin Chien, Ben Howe, So Yong Kim
Acura Someone to Watch Award:
  • Hossein Keshavarz, "Dog Sweat"
  • Laurel Nakadate, "The Wolf Knife"
  • Mike Ott, "Littlerock"
Piaget Producers Award:
  • In-Ah Lee, "Au Revoir Taipei"
  • Adele Romanski, "The Myth of the American Sleepover"
  • Anish Savjani, "Meek's Cutoff"
Aveeno Truer Than Fiction Award:
  • Ilisa Barbash, Lucien Castaing-Taylor, "Sweetgrass"
  • Jeff Malmberg, "Marwencol"
  • Lynn True, Nelson Walker, "Summer Pasture"
Robert Altman Award:

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image