Christina Perri Biography

  • Christina Perri
    • Famous as : Singer, songwriter
    • Birth Name : Christina Judith Perri
    • Birth Date : August 19, 1986
    • Birth Place : Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
    • Spouse : -
    • Claim to Fame : Single "Jar of Hearts" (2010)

Christina Perri Bio, Life Story

Christina Perri is one of the gems in music industry. Her raw talent and brutally honest song helped her break the highly-competitive showbiz scene. Growing up to rock music like Guns N' Roses introduced to her by her brother, she taught herself how to play guitar and then learned piano. She wrote her own songs and waited tables at the Melrose Café for a living while pursuing her dream as a musician.

Her big break came in July 2010 when she was asked to perform "Jar of Hearts" on Fox's "So You Think You Can Dance". She became a sensation overnight. Within a month, the song sold hundreds of copies, topped Amazon's digital songs chart, and broke the top 20 on Billboard Hot 100.

On top of that, it landed her a deal with Atlantic Records. "While all of this was happening, I barely slept," she said, "because I was afraid it was just a dream; that I'd wake up and none of it would be real. One minute I didn't exist in the music world and the next minute I did."

Her debut album "Lovestrong" arrived in May 2011 and entered No. 4 on Hot 200. By the end of the year, it became the thirteenth highest selling debut album of 2011 in the U.K. Throughout the rest of the year, she toured the country while continuing what she did best, writing songs.

A brand new song "A Thousand Years" was eventually released in fall that year as a soundtrack for "Twilight Saga's Breaking Dawn - Part 1". The song was another success for her. It climbed the charts around the world and sold over 3 million copies in the U.S. alone.

Two years in the making, Perri's second album "Head or Heart" was finally ready in 2013 but it will not be released until April 1, 2014. "Human" and "Burning Gold" are two of the standout songs in the album. While in the first album she collaborated with Jason Mraz, in this one she teamed up with Ed Sheeran.

Biography was written and copyrighted © by

*/ if ($layoutType == 'mobile') { mb_bottomframe($kanal, $htmlfile, $brstatus); } ?>