Emmys 2019: Alex Borstein and Tony Shalhoub Among Early Winners
WENN/Adriana M. Barraza

Also collecting prizes at the annual ceremony is 'Fleabag' star and creator Phoebe Waller-Bridge, who wins Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series and Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series.

AceShowbiz - The 71st Primetime Emmy Awards is finally here. Honoring the best in the U.S. prime time television programming, the biggest night for TV industry was held on September 22, 2019, at the Microsoft Theater in Downtown Los Angeles, California. The first winners that night were from fan-favorite comedy series "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel".

Tony Shalhoub, who portrays Abe Weissman on the Netflix show, was honored with the prize of Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series. Taking the stage to accept his statue from Ben Stiller and Bob Newhart, the actor said, "Like most of you, I'm not a fan of the endless lists that the award recipients hands out... but in the case of Maisel, there's no choice for it."

Also among early winners at the annual ceremony was his co-star Alex Borstein. The actress won Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series for her portrayal of Susie Myerson on the award-winning show. She dedicated her win for "the strength of all woman" as well as her grandmother who is an immigrant and an holocaust survivor. She ended her speech with an empowering message, "Step out of line, ladies!"

Later, "Fleabag" creator and star Phoebe Waller-Bridge was named as the winner for the category of Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series. That was not the only victory for "Fleabag" as the BBC series' director Harry Bradbeer was presented with Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series prize.

The night also marked the second Lead Actor in a Comedy Series win for "Barry" star Bill Hader. He thanked co-creator Alec Berg. Meanwhile, Waller-Bridge took to the stage again to accept her statue for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series.

You can share this post!

Related Posts