Ariana Grande's 'Thank U, Next' Sets Biggest Streaming Week on Billboard 200

Racking up a whooping 307 million on-demand audio streams, the effort breaks record for the largest streaming week for a pop album as well as any album by a woman.

AceShowbiz - Ariana Grande sets multiple new records with the release of her highly-anticipated effort "Thank U, Next" that storms in at No. 1 on Billboard 200 chart. Making its way out on February 8 via Republic Records, the set sold 360,000 equivalent album units in the week ending February 14, according to Nielsen Music. Of that sum, 116,000 were in traditional album sales.

"Thank U, Next" becomes Ariana's fourth No. 1 album, following "Sweetener" that arrived atop the chart on September 1, 2018. That span of five months and 22 days is the shortest gap between new No. 1s on Billboard 200 for a woman since 1975. At the time, Olivia Newton-John had her "Have You Never Been Mellow" album topping Billboard 200 five months after "If You Love Me Let Me Know" debuted atop the chart.

Not stopping there, the album breaks the record for the largest streaming week for a pop album with a whooping 307 million on-demand audio streams, beating Ed Sheeran's "Divide (division sign)" which earned 126.7 million on-demand audio streams in its first week of release. It's also the biggest streaming week for an album by a woman, surpassing Cardi B's "Invasion of Privacy" that racked up 202.6 million in April 2018.

In addition to that, "Thank U, Next" earns the biggest week for a pop album by a woman in over a year since Taylor Swift's "Reputation" opened with 1.24 million units in December 2017. It also scores biggest sales week for an album by a woman since "Reputation".

Back to this week's Billboard 200 chart, the soundtrack album to "A Star Is Born" jumps to No. 2 with 49,000 units following "Shallow" wins at the 2019 Grammy Awards. "Bohemian Rhapsody" soundtrack also zooms to No. 3 with 48,000 units after the release of DVD and blu-ray of the movie. A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie's "Hoodie SZN" falls to No. 4 with 43,000 units, while Post Malone's "Beerbongs & Bentleys" rounds out the top five with 39,000 units.

At No. 6, Travis Scott (II)'s "Astroworld" descends from its No. 4 spot with 37,000 units, followed by 21 Savage's "I Am > I Was" at No. 7 with nearly 37,000 units. Drake's "Scorpion" is a non mover at No. 8 with 35,000 units.

After winning Album of the Year at the 2019 Grammys, Kacey Musgraves' "Golden Hour" re-enters the chart at No. 9 with 35,000 units. Meanwhile, Meek Mill's "Championships" closes out this week's top ten with 34,000 units.

  1. "Thank U, Next" - Ariana Grande (360,000 units)
  2. "A Star Is Born" soundtrack - Lady GaGa and Bradley Cooper (49,000 units)
  3. "Bohemian Rhapsody" soundtrack - Queen (48,000 units)
  4. "Hoodie SZN" - A Boogie wit da Hoodie (43,000 units)
  5. "Beerbongs & Bentleys" - Post Malone (39,000 units)
  6. "Astroworld" - "Travis Scott (II) (37,000 units)
  7. "I Am > I Was" - 21 Savage (nearly 37,000 units)
  8. "Scorpion" - Drake (35,000 units)
  9. "Golden Hour" - Kacey Musgraves (35,000 units)
  10. "Championships" - Meek Mill (34,000 units)

You can share this post!

You might also like
Related Posts