Weezer Treat Fans to Covers Album Ahead of Original Record Release

The Rivers Cuomo-fronted band releases 'The Teal Album' which features their take on a-ha's 'Take on Me' and The Eurythmics' 'Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)' among others.

AceShowbiz - Weezer have surprised fans by releasing a covers album.

Inspired by the success of their take on Toto's "Africa", the band began working on a list of tribute tracks last summer and the finished result is "Weezer (The Teal Album)".

View this post on Instagram

Having trouble being patient until The Black Album? We got you covered (literally). The Teal Album is out now - the ultimate cover song collection with TOTO, @tearsforfearsmusic, @eurythmicsmusic, @officialaha, The Turtles, @blacksabbath, @jefflynneselo, @officialtlc, @michaeljackson & Ben E. King The first place to buy the Teal CD (if that’s your thing) at Weezer.com. 500 ultra limited teal velcro wallets avail now for pre-order - first 100 orders come with real signed dollar bills! More fun to come between now and Black Friday (3/1).

A post shared by weezer (@weezer) on

As well as Africa, the album features revamps of "Take On Me" by a-ha, The Turtles' "Happy Together", "Everybody Wants to Rule the World" by Tears for Fears, and "Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)" by The Eurythmics.

The covers album precedes the band's forthcoming new album of original Weezer songs, "Weezer (The Black Album)", which will be released on March 1, 2019.

You can share this post!

You might also like
Related Posts