Saturn Awards 2017: 'Rogue One: A Star Wars Story', '10 Cloverfield Lane' Are Big Winners in Film

Leading the pack with 11 nominations, the 2016 'Star Wars' spin-off took home three awards, including Best Science Fiction Film and Best Direction in a Film for director Gareth Edwards.

AceShowbiz - "Rogue One: A Star Wars Story" and "10 Cloverfield Lane" dominated winners in motion picture category at the 43rd Annual Saturn Awards. Leading the pack with 11 nominations, the 2016 "Star Wars" spin-off took home three awards at the event which was held on Wednesday, June 28.

"Rogue One" was named Best Science Fiction Film at the event hosted by Sean Gunn, with director Gareth Edwards taking the honor to receive the prize. The helmer also won the award for Best Film Direction for his contribution in the Felicity Jones-led movie. It won Best Film Visual / Special Effects, with John Knoll sharing the prize with Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel and Neil Corbould.

"10 Cloverfield Lane", meanwhile, won the Best Thriller Film Award. For her role in the J.J. Abrams-produced sci-fi, psychological thriller, Mary Elizabeth Winstead won the award for Best Actress in a Film, while her co-star John Goodman was named Best Supporting Actor in a Film.

Disney's "Doctor Strange" and "The BFG" as well as "La La Land" followed with two awards each. The Marvel movie took home the Best Comic-to-Film Motion Picture Award. In addition, the movie starring Benedict Cumberbatch as the titular superhero won Best Supporting Actress for Tilda Swinton for her performance as The Ancient One.

"The BFG" won the awards for Best Film Production Design and Best Film Editing, while Damien Chazelle-directed "La La Land" was named Best Independent Film. Justin Hurwitz was honored with the Best Film Music Award for his work in the Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling-starring musical.

Also at the awards show that took place in Burbank, California, Academy Award-winning "Arrival" won Best Writing with Eric Heisserer as the scriptwriter. Meanwhile, "Don't Breathe" was named Best Horror Film, with director Fade Alfarez taking the honor to receive the award.

Aside from honoring the best in science fiction, fantasy, horror and other genres in film, television, home media releases and theatre, the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films honored several individuals with special awards of recognition. Among the recipients were Lee Majors (The Life Career Award), Akiva Goldsman (The Visionary Award), and Rick Jaffa and Amanda Silver (The Filmmakers Showcase Award).

Follow @ Google News

You can share this post!

You might also like
Related Posts