Joaquin Phoenix and Diane Kruger Win Best Actor and Actress at Cannes 2017

Sofia Coppola is named Best Director, Nicole Kidman receives a special award and Swedish movie 'The Square' wins the top honor.

AceShowbiz - Winners of the 2017 Cannes International Film Festival have been announced. Joaquin Phoenix and Diane Kruger were named Best Actor and Best Actress for their respective performances in "You Were Never Really Here" and "In the Fade".

Ruben Ostlund's "The Square" took home the top honor, Palme d'Or, while Robin Campillo's "120 Beats Per Minute" grabbed Gran Prix prize and Andrey Zvyagintsev's "Loveless" got Jury Prize. Sofia Coppola won the title of Best Director for her work "The Beguiled" and Nicole Kidman was feted with Special 70th Anniversary Award.

This year, the juries included Fan Bingbing, Jessica Chastain, Will Smith and Uma Thurman while the head of the juries is Spanish director/screenwriter Pedro Almodovar. Meanwhile, Monica Belucci served as a host for the opening and closing ceremonies.


  • Un Certain Regard Prize: Mohammad Rasoulof - "A Man of Integrity"
  • Best Actress: Jasmine Trinca - "Fortunata"
  • Best Poetic Narrative: Mathieu Amalric - "Barbara"
  • Best Direction: Taylor Sheridan - "Wind River"
  • Jury Prize: Michel Franco - "April's Daughter"
  • Nespresso Grand Prize: Emmanuel Gras - "Makala"
  • France 4 Visionary Award: Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa - "Gabriel and the Mountain"
  • Leica Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film: Laura Ferres - "Los Desheredados"
  • Gan Foundation Support for Distribution Award: Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa - "Gabriel and the Mountain"
  • SACD Award: Lea Mysius - "Ava"
  • Canal+ Award: Aleksandra Terpinska - "The Best Fireworks"

You can share this post!

Related Posts