Ellen DeGeneres and Steve Harvey Among Winners at 2017 Daytime Emmy Awards

Ellen DeGeneres and Steve Harvey Among Winners at 2017 Daytime Emmy Awards

Also named winners at the 44th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards were 'Good Morning America', 'The Talk', 'General Hospital', Kate Mansi and Scott Clifton.
Hosted by Mario Lopez ("Extra") and Sheryl Underwood ("The Talk"), the 44th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards was held on Sunday, April 30 at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium. In the award-giving event, "The Ellen DeGeneres Show" successfully won for Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show, while Steve Harvey, who didn't attend the event, nabbed double awards.

The Ellen DeGeneres-hosted daytime show won the award, 20 years after the host came out as a gay on the sitcom "Ellen." Of Ellen's decision to come out on TV, "Ellen" executive producer Mary Connelly said, "She did it because it was the right thing to do." Ellen was absent, thus Mary accepted the award on behalf of her.

Steve was also among the top winners of Sunday's event. The comedian was named Outstanding Informative Talk Show Host for his Syndicated show "Steve Harvey". In addition, he won Outstanding Game Show Host for his hosting duties on "Family Feud", defeating Wayne Brady ("Let's Make a Deal"), Craig Ferguson ("Celebrity Name Game"), Pat Sajak ("Wheel of Fortune") and Alex Trebek (Jeopardy).

ABC's "Good Morning America", meanwhile, claimed the Emmy for Outstanding Morning Program, one of the night's top prizes. "The Talk" brought home a trophy for Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show Hosts. That was such a surprise win which was reflected during their emotional and touching acceptance speech.

Scott Clifton walked away with a trophy for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series for his performance on CBS' "The Bold and the Beautiful". He became the first winner to win what presenter Jane Pauley dubbed "the trifecta": lead, supporting, and younger actor.

"Entertainment Tonight" joined that night's winners as it was honored with Outstanding Entertainment News Program, while former "ET" anchor Mary Hart accepted a lifetime achievement award at the live-streamed event.

  • Outstanding Morning Program: "Good Morning America" (ABC)
  • Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show Hosts: "The Talk" (CBS)
  • Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Kate Mansi, "Days of Our Lives" (CBS)
  • Outstanding Younger Actor in a Drama Series: Bryan Craig, "General Hospital" (ABC)
  • Outstanding Younger Actress in a Drama Series: Lexi Ainsworth "General Hospital" (ABC)
  • Outstanding Game Show: "Jeopardy"
  • Outstanding Informative Talk Show: "The Dr. Oz Show" (Syndicated)
  • Outstanding Informative Talk Show Host: "Steve Harvey" (Syndicated)
  • Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show: "The Ellen Degeneres Show" (Syndicated)
  • Outstanding Game Show Host: Steve Harvey, "Family Feud" (Syndicated)
  • Outstanding Entertainment News Program: "Entertainment Tonight" (CBS)
  • Outstanding Drama Series: "General Hospital" (ABC)
  • Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series: Scott Clifton, "The Bold and the Beautiful" (CBS)
  • Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series: Gina Togomi, "The Young and the Restless" (CBS)
  • Outstanding Culinary Program: "Eat the World with Emeril Lagasse" (Amazon)

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image