Bob Dylan Is Readying Frank Sinatra Covers Album, Shares Tracklist

The 10-track effort, which includes Dylan's covers of 'I'm a Fool to Want You' and 'Stay With Me' among others, will be released on February 3, 2015.

AceShowbiz - Bob Dylan announced in late October that he would be releasing a new album sometime in 2015. The veteran singer then revealed more details about the project, which will be called "Shadows in the Night", on Tuesday, December 9.

The album is set for release on February 3, 2015 via Columbia Records. A tribute to Frank Sinatra, the 10-track effort will have Dylan's covers of songs made famous by the late superstar including "I'm a Fool to Want You", "Stay With Me" and "What'll I Do".

"It was a real privilege to make this album," Dylan explained in a statement posted on his Facebook page. "I've wanted to do something like this for a long time but was never brave enough to approach 30-piece complicated arrangements and refine them down for a five-piece band. That's the key to all these performances."

"We knew these songs extremely well," he added. "It was all done live. Maybe one or two takes. No overdubbing. No vocal booths. No headphones. No separate tracking, and, for the most part, mixed as it was recorded. I don't see myself as covering these songs in any way. They've been covered enough. Buried, as a matter a fact. What me and my band are basically doing is uncovering them. Lifting them out of the grave and bringing them into the light of day."

"Shadows in the Night" marks Dylan's first album since 2012's critically acclaimed "Tempest". The forthcoming LP has been preceded by his take on Sinatra's 1945 hit "Full Moon and Empty Arms".

"Shadows in the Night" Tracklist:

  1. "I'm a Fool to Want You"
  2. "The Night We Called It a Day"
  3. "Stay With Me"
  4. "Autumn Leaves"
  5. "Why Try to Change Me Now"
  6. "Some Enchanted Evening"
  7. "Full Moon and Empty Arms"
  8. "Where Are You?
  9. "What'll I Do"
  10. "That Lucky Old Sun"

You can share this post!

Related Posts