ABC Unveils 2013 Fall Schedule, Drops 'Dancing with the Stars' Results Show

ABC Unveils 2013 Fall Schedule, Drops 'Dancing with the Stars' Results Show

ABC includes eight of its new shows in the line-up, giving the Tuesday, 8 P.M. slot to 'Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.'
ABC's 2013 fall schedule has been announced, revealing the airing time of the highly-anticipated "Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.". The Joss Whedon-developed show occupies the Tuesday, 8 P.M. slot as the network downsizes "Dancing with the Stars" to only one night a week next season.

"We think that by taking the results show and building it in the two-hour block from 8 to 10 on Monday night, we can really build a sense of occasion to that and drive viewership to Monday night," ABC Entertainment Group President Paul Lee told reporters about their decision to drop "DWTS" results show.

Lee assured that viewers would still play a role in the show, but he didn't share further how the two-hour performance show would work as a results show, too. "I don't want to jump the gun. There are a number of great ideas," he gushed, adding that he tried to make the show more appealing to young audience.

Lee also has a high confidence in its decision to launch "Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D." without a strong lead-in and going up against CBS' "NCIS: Naval Criminal Investigative Service". "First of all, every single hour of the schedule is up against competition, but we believe that S.H.I.E.L.D. is particularly good because we think it's going to recruit a whole new audience going in," he said.

"We think it has a built in audience obviously with it being associated with the amazing Avengers franchise. And we don't necessarily think that audience is the same as 'NCIS', so we have high hopes for it."

ABC surely depends heavily on its new shows next fall, bringing eight new shows including "S.H.I.E.L.D." in the line-up. "The Goldbergs", "Trophy Wife" and "Lucky 7" will follow "S.H.I.E.L.D." on Tuesdays, while "Back in the Game" and "Super Fun Night" join "The Middle", "Modern Family" and "Nashville" on Wednesdays.

"Once Upon a Time in Wonderland" will open on Thursdays at 8 P.M., serving as a lead-in to veteran medical series "Grey's Anatomy". "Wonderland" mother show "Once Upon a Time" stays on Sundays with "Revenge", followed by rookie "Betrayal" at 10 P.M.

More new shows, including reality series "The Quest", is saved for later in the season, while comedy "Suburgatory" will return in midseason.

8:00-10:00 P.M.: "Dancing With the Stars"
10:00-11:00 P.M.: "Castle"

8:00-9:00 P.M.: "Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D."
9:00-9:30 P.M.: "The Goldbergs"
9:30-10:00 P.M.: "Trophy Wife"
10:00-11:00 P.M.: "Lucky 7"

8:00-8:30 P.M.: "The Middle"
8:30-9:00 P.M.: "Back in the Game"
9:00-9:30 P.M.: "Modern Family"
9:30-10:00 P.M.: "Super Fun Night"
10:00-10:30 P.M.: "Nashville"

8:00-9:00 P.M.: "Once Upon a Time in Wonderland"
9:00-10:00 P.M.: "Grey's Anatomy"
10:00-11:00 P.M.: "Scandal"

8:00-8:30 P.M.: "Last Man Standing"
8:30-9:00 P.M.: "The Neighbors"
9:00-10:00 P.M.: "Shark Tank"
10:00-11:00 P.M.: "20/20"

8:00 P.M.: "Saturday Night College Football"

7:00-8:00 P.M.: "America's Funniest Home Videos"
8:00-9:00 P.M.: "Once Upon a Time"
9:00-10:00 P.M.: "Revenge"
10:00-11:00 P.M.: "Betrayal"

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image