Re-Elected Whoopi Goldberg Joined by Ava DuVernay in the Academy's Board of Governors

The 'Ghost' star beats 18 other candidates for another three-year term in the latest governors board voting, while the 'Selma' director is one of those elected for the first time.

AceShowbiz - Whoopi Goldberg has been re-elected the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences actors branch governor.

The "Ghost" star beat out 18 other candidates to land another three-year term in the latest governors board voting.

She joins Mandy Walker (cinematographers), Iris Mussenden (costume designers), Kate Amend (documentary), David Linde (executives), Christina Kounelias (marketing and PR), Charles Bernstein (music), Wynn P. Thomas (production designers), Teri E. Dorman (sound), and Larry Karasewski (writers), who have all been re-elected, according to Deadline.

Meanwhile, filmmaker Ava DuVernay is among those elected to the board for the first time.

As a result of the latest AMPAS election, there are increases in the amount of women and people of colour on the board, which will meet on Thursday, June 11, via video conference to discuss changes to the voting for and presentation of the 2021 Oscars.

You can share this post!

Related Posts