Soul Train Awards 2019: Summer Walker Among Winners, Trolled Over Her Acceptance Speech

Meanwhile, Chris Brown and Drake are named the biggest winners of the night thanks to their hit collaboration 'No Guidance', which wins three categories at the event.

AceShowbiz - Summer Walker was among those who were lucky to be able to bring home a trophy at the 2019 Soul Train Awards at Orleans Arena in Las Vegas on Sunday, November 17. However, she once again had to deal with online trolls as they mocked her acceptance speech after she won the Best New Artist accolade at the event.

Looking very nervous on the stage, Summer said, "Hi, um... Thank you so much I didn't expect this." She paused for a while before continuing to thank those who supported her throughout her journey, including her producer boyfriend London On Da Track. "I really appreciate it," she added, before quickly turning back and walking away.

Those who watched the show couldn't help but ridicule Summer because she was so awkward during her acceptance speech. "Summer Walker accepting her award and getting tf off stage," one wrote along with a clip of a thief quickly putting things on his bag. Someone else, meanwhile, shared a GIF of a baby girl cringing while saying, "Summer Walker's whole interaction and speech..." Another agreed and added, "You ain't lying lol..."

One other said, "Maybe I'm high but wtf was wrong with Summer Walker on the Soul Train Awards," as an individual wrote, "She won an award on the soul train awards, looking like a 5 year old talking bout 'I didn't expect this, thank y'all, thanks london the track' & walked off." There was also one who dubbed her acceptance speech "the most awkward thing I've ever seen."

Summer has yet to respond to the criticism, though some of her fans have already come to her defense.

In related news, Chris Brown and Drake were named the biggest winners of the night thanks to their collaboration "No Guidance" that won Song of the Year, Best Collaboration and Best Dance Performance. Meanwhile, Lizzo followed closely behind with two awards, Video of the Year for "Juice" and Album/Mixtape of the Year for "Cuz I Love You".

The 2019 Soul Train Awards' winners list:
  • Best New Artist: Summer Walker
  • Best R&B/Soul Male Artist: Khalid
  • Best R&B/Soul Female Artist: H.E.R.
  • Soul Train Certified Award: Trevor Jackson
  • Video of the Year: Lizzo - "Juice"
  • Best Gospel/Inspirational Award: Kirk Franklin
  • Album/Mixtape of the Year: Lizzo - "Cuz I Love You"
  • Rhythm & Bars Award: Cardi B - "Money"
  • Song of the Year: Chris Brown featuring Drake - "No Guidance"
  • The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter's Award: Beyonce Knowles featuring Saint Jhn, Wizkid and Blue Ivy Carter - "Brown Skin Girl"
  • Best Dance Performance: Chris Brown featuring Drake - "No Guidance"
  • Best Collaboration: Chris Brown featuring Drake - "No Guidance"
  • You can share this post!

    Related Posts