'Oklahoma!' Dominates 2019 Drama Desk Awards With 12 Nominations

While the Daniel Fish-directed musical vies for Outstanding Revival of a Musical among other nods, Aaron Sorkin's 'To Kill A Mockingbird' gets snubbed in the Outstanding Play category.

AceShowbiz - The latest revival of hit Broadway musical "Oklahoma!" will be the one to beat at New York's Drama Desk Awards after landing 12 nominations.

The new production is in competition for "Outstanding Revival of a Musical", alongside "Carmen Jones", "Fiddler on the Roof", "Kiss Me, Kate", and "Merrily We Roll Along", while Daniel Fish is shortlisted for Outstanding Director of a Musical, facing off with Joel Grey ("Fiddler on the Roof"), Noah Brody ("Merrily We Roll Along"), Rachel Chavkin ("Hadestown"), and Scott Ellis ("Tootsie") for the title.

There were a handful of nods for the cast of "Oklahoma!" - Damon Daunno and Rebecca Naomi Jones are up for the Outstanding Actor and Actress in a Musical prizes, while Patrick Vaill, Ali Stroker, and Mary Testa will do battle in the featured actor and actress categories.

The "Outstanding Play" nominees are "Fairview", "The Ferryman", "Lewiston/Clarkston", "Usual Girls", and "What the Constitution Means to Me" - but there was no love for Aaron Sorkin's hit production of classic Harper Lee novel "To Kill A Mockingbird", which was sensationally snubbed by Drama Desk officials.

It wasn't a complete shut out for the "To Kill A Mockingbird" cast and crew - Celia Keenan-Bolger earned a nod for Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play.

Meanwhile, there were other notable mentions for Laurie Metcalf (Outstanding Actress in a Play for "Hillary and Clinton"), Ruth Wilson (Outstanding Featured Actress in a "Play for King Lear"), Corbin Bleu (Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical for "Kiss Me, Kate"), and "Tootsie"'s Santino Fontana, who is nominated for Outstanding Actor in a Musical.

The winners of the Drama Desk Awards, which celebrate productions both on and Off Broadway, will be announced during a ceremony at Manhattan's The Town Hall on 2 June.

You can share this post!