Shawn Mendes Dominates 2019 Juno Awards With Five Wins
WENN/Adriana M. Barraza

Bringing home four trophies from the March 16 night's gala dinner, the 'In My Blood' hitmaker goes on to score Album of the Year prize at the official awards ceremony the next day.

AceShowbiz - Shawn Mendes was the big winner at Saturday night's (March 16) Juno Gala dinner in Canada, picking up four top prizes.

The "In My Blood" singer landed trophies for Songwriter and Pop Album of the Year and Single of the Year at the prizegiving in London, Ontario on the eve of the official Juno Awards ceremony on Sunday, when he'll also compete for Album of the Year and Fan Choice.

Composer and arranger David Foster was also a big winner at the gala, picking up the Humanitarian of the Year accolade from pal Michael Buble, who took home the Adult Contemporary Album of the Year.

Saturday night's victors also included Colin James (Blues Album of the Year), Dizzy (Alternative Album of the Year), Loud Luxury (Dance Recording of the Year), Jeremy Dutcher (Indigenous Album of the Year), and The Washboard Union (Breakthrough Group).

Sunday night's prizegiving, which will largely consist of musical performances, will include the return of 1980s heartthrob Corey Hart, who has not performed on television in more than 20 years, Coeur de Pirate and Loud, Dutcher, and Sarah McLachlan, who will also host.

Mendes will perform via video from Europe, where he's on tour.

Here is the list of winners at the 2019 Juno Awards:

  • Single of the Year: Shawn Mendes - "In My Blood"
  • Album of the Year: Shawn Mendes - "Shawn Mendes"
  • Artist of the Year: Shawn Mendes
  • Group of the Year: Arkells
  • Juno Fan Choice Award: Avril Lavigne
  • International Album of the Year: Post Malone - "Beerbongs & Bentleys"
  • Breakthrough Artist of the Year: bulow
  • Breakthrough Group of the Year: The Washboard Union
  • Songwriter of the Year: Shawn Mendes - "Lost in Japan" — co-songwriters Nate Mercereau, Scott Harris, Teddy Geiger, "Youth" — co-songwriters Geoff Warburton, Khalid Robinson, Scott Harris, Teddy Geiger, "In My Blood" — co-songwriters Geoff Warburton, Scott Harris, Teddy Geiger (Shawn Mendes, "Shawn Mendes")
  • Country Album of the Year: Brett Kissel - "We Were That Song"
  • Adult Alternative Album of the Year: Bahamas - "Earthtones"
  • Alternative Album of the Year: Dizzy - "Baby Teeth"
  • Pop Album of the Year: Shawn Mendes - "Shawn Mendes"
  • Rock Album of the Year: Arkells - "Rally Cry"
  • Vocal Jazz Album of the Year: Laila Biali - "Laila Biali"
  • Jazz Album of the Year, Solo: Robi Botos - "Old Soul"
  • Jazz Album of the Year, Group: Andy Milne and Dapp Theory - "The Seasons of Being"
  • Instrumental Album of the Year: Gordon Grdina - "China Cloud"
  • Francophone Album of the Year: Loud - Une annee record
  • Children's Album of the Year: Splash'N Boots - "You, Me and the Sea"
  • Classical Album of the Year, Solo or Chamber: Gryphon Trio - "The End of Flowers: Works by Clarke & Ravel"
  • Classical Album of the Year, Large Ensemble: Toronto Symphony Orchestra conducted by Peter Oundjian feat. Louis Lortie, Sarah Jeffrey, and Teng Li - "Vaughan Williams"
  • Classical Album of the Year: Vocal or Choral: Barbara Hannigan with Reinbert De Leeuw - "Vienna: Fin de siecle"
  • Classical Composition of the Year: Ana Sokolovic - "Golden Slumbers Kiss Your Eyes"
  • Rap Recording of the Year: Tory Lanez - "Love Me Now"
  • Dance Recording of the Year: Loud Luxury - "Body"
  • R&B/Soul Recording of the Year: Jessie Reyez - "Being Human in Public"
  • Reggae Recording of the Year: Dubmatix - "Sly & Robbie meet Dubmatix" — "Overdubbed"
  • Indigenous Music Album of the Year: Jeremy Dutcher - "Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa"
  • Contemporary Roots Album of the Year: Donovan Woods - "Both Ways"
  • Traditional Roots Album of the Year: Pharis & Jason Romero - "Sweet Old Religion"
  • Blues Album of the Year: Colin James - "Miles to Go"
  • Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year: Lovecollide - "Tired of Basic"
  • World Music Album of the Year: Wesli - "Rapadou Kreyol"
  • Electronic Album of the Year: Milk & Bone - "Deception Bay"
  • Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year: Voivod - "The Wake"
  • Adult Contemporary Album of the Year: Michael Buble - "Love"
  • Comedy Album of the Year: Dave Merheje - "Good Friend Bad Grammar"
  • Jack Richardson Producer of the Year Award: Eric Ratz, "People's Champ," "Relentless" (Arkells - "Rally Cry")
  • Recording Engineer of the Year: Shawn Everett, "Slow Burn," "Space Cowboy" (Kacey Musgraves - "Golden Hour")
  • Album Artwork of the Year: Mike Milosh (art director, designer, illustrator and photographer) (Rhye - "Blood")
  • Video of the Year: Ali Eisner, "No Depression" (Bahamas)

You can share this post!

Related Posts