'Black Panther' Reigns Over 2018 AAFCA Awards
Walt Disney Pictures

The African American Film Critics Association has handed out three prizes, including Best Film, to the Marvel superhero film, and two gongs each to 'BlacKkKlansman' and 'If Beale Street Could Talk'.

AceShowbiz - "Black Panther" has been crowned the best movie of the year by members of the African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA).

The Marvel superhero blockbuster, starring Chadwick Boseman as T'Challa, aka Black Panther, picked up a trio of honours at the organisation's 2018 awards, with Ryan Coogler earning the Best Director title, and rapper Kendrick Lamar and SZA's "All the Stars" theme tune taking home Best Song.

There was also double delight for Spike Lee's "BlacKkKlansman", which claimed Best Screenplay and Best Actor for John David Washington, and "The Hate U Give", awarding Russell Hornsby Best Supporting Actor, and Amandla Stenberg the Best Breakout Performance accolades.

Meanwhile, Regina King was celebrated as Best Supporting Actress for Barry Jenkins' "If Beale Street Could Talk", which was also named Best Independent Film, and Best Actress was bestowed upon Regina Hall for "Support the Girls".

Best Foreign Film went to Alfonso Cuaron's "Roma", "Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse" claimed Best Animated Film, and "Quincy", exploring the life of music legend Quincy Jones, landed Best Documentary.

Other winners were "Insecure" (Best TV Comedy), "Queen Sugar" (Best TV Drama), and Jada Pinkett Smith's "Red Table Talk" show on Facebook, which scored the Best New Media prize.

Members of the AAFCA, the largest group of professional black film critics, also shared their top 10 films of 2018, with "Black Panther", "If Beale Street Could Talk", "The Hate U Give", "Quincy", and "Roma" joined by "A Star Is Born", "Sorry to Bother You", "The Favourite", "Blindspotting", and "Widows". Interestingly, "BlacKkKlansman" was not named in the top 10 list.

The winners will be feted at the 10th annual AAFCA Awards Gala in Hollywood on 6 February (19).

See the full list of winners below.

AAFCA's Top Ten List:

You can share this post!

Related Posts