"Men" Writing Team Granted the 19th Annual USC Libraries Scripter Award

Children of Men picture

The book author and screenwriting team of "Children of Men" have come out as the prize's winner.
The writing team behind "Children of Men", Alfonso Cuaron, Timothy J. Sexton, David Arata, Mark Fergus, and Hawk Ostby, plus author P.D. James, who wrote the original book version from which the flick was developed, should draw a really big smile by now as their work finally was deemed the winner of the 19th Annual USC Libraries Scripter Award.

"This year's five nominated films were, all of them, heartfelt and elegantly wrought," USC School of Cinematic Arts Writing Division chair Howard Rodman commented. "In that heady company, 'Children of Men' was first among equals. (The team) took P.D. James' bracingly dystopic novel and crafted from it a film at once brave, subtle (and) shocking. This is writing and screenwriting of the highest order."

The aforementioned names will all receive the honor at the annual black-tie Scripter gala, set to be held on February 18 this year at at USC's Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library in Los Angeles with Hal Kanter returning as grand emcee for the seventh time.

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image