'Zero Motivation' Wins Top Prize at 2014 Tribeca Film Festival

'Zero Motivation' Wins Top Prize at 2014 Tribeca Film Festival

The winners are determined by juries that include directors Catherine Hardwicke and Gary Ross as well as actors like Lake Bell, Whoopi Goldberg, Jeff Goldblum, and Anton Yelchin.
The winners for the 13th annual Tribeca Film Festival which runs from April 16-27 in NYC have been revealed. Israeli film "Zero Motivation" won big, grabbing the coveted Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature. The winner was determined by a panel of juries that include actress Lake Bell, "The Secret Life of Walter Mitty" screenwriter Steve Conrad, and "Twilight" director Catherine Hardwicke.

"The winner of this year's Founder's Award follows young women who must find their place and establish their identity in a world normally dominated by men and machismo," the panel noted. "They do so with humor, strength and intellect. The filmmaker mirrors these same qualities. We believe a new, powerful, voice has emerged."

Best Actor went to Paul Schneider for his performance in comedy "Goodbye to All That". The juries said, "This performance reminded us that even in the most ordinary settings, our lives can summon extraordinary humor, pain, awkwardness, and if we earn it .... dignity."

Best Actress was handed to Valeria Bruni Tedeschi in Italian-France production "Human Capital". The judges praised her, "In her elegant portrayal of a profoundly conflicted wife and mother, this actress crafts a complex performance of a woman wrestling between love, family and obligation. She layers both strength and fragility without self-consciousness, with a fearlessness to exercise both subtlety and restraint."

Co-founder Robert De Niro was on hand to present some of the awards, including Best Narrative Feature. Along with co-founder Jane Rosenthal, he also announced Special Jury Mention in the category, which went to "The Kidnapping of Michel Houellebecq" directed by Guillaume Nicloux (France).

The other juries at the festival included "The Hunger Games" helmer Gary Ross and such actors as Whoopi Goldberg, Toni Collette, Jeff Goldblum, Paul Wesley, and Anton Yelchin.

Juries: Lake Bell, Steve Conrad, Bart Freundlich, Catherine Hardwicke, and Ben Younger.
  • The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature: "Zero Motivation" directed by Talya Lavie (Israel)
  • Special Jury Mention: "The Kidnapping of Michel Houellebecq" directed by Guillaume Nicloux (France)
  • Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film: Paul Schneider in "Goodbye to All That" directed by Angus MacLachlan (USA).
  • Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film: Valeria Bruni Tedeschi in "Human Capital" directed by Paolo Virzi (Italy, France)
  • Best Cinematography: Damian GarciĀ­a for "Gueros" directed by Alonso Ruizpalacios (Mexico)
  • Best Screenplay: "The Kidnapping of Michel Houellebecq" written and directed by Guillaume Nicloux (France)
  • Best Narrative Editing: "Five Star" edited, directed and written by Keith Miller (USA)
Juries: David Edelstein, Nick Fraser, Andrea Meditch, Jenni Wolfson, and Marina Zenovich.
  • Best Documentary Feature: "Point and Shoot" directed by Marshall Curry (USA)
  • Special Jury Mention: "Regarding Susan Sontag" directed by Nancy Kates (USA)
  • Best Documentary Editing: "Ne Me Quitte Pas" edited, written and directed by Sabine Lubbe Bakker and Niels van Koevorden (Netherlands, Belgium)
Juries: Jeff Goldblum, Nadine Labaki, Dorothy Lyman, Adepero Oduye, and Mickey Sumner.
  • Best New Narrative Director: Josef Wladyka for "Manos Sucias" (Columbia, USA)
  • Special Jury Mention: Alonso Ruizpalacios for "Gueros" (Mexico)
Juries: Rebecca Cammisa, Heather Graham, Nate Parker, Doug Pray, and Michael Stuhlbarg. SHORT FILM COMPETITION:
Juries: Alfonso Arau, Whoopi Goldberg, Christine Lahti, Sheila Nevins, and Paul Wesley.
  • Best Narrative Short: "The Phone Call" directed by Mat Kirkby (UK)
Juries: Lindsay Burdge, Toni Collette, Regina Dugan, Simon Kilmurry, and Anton Yelchin.
  • Best Documentary Short: "One Year Lease" directed by Brian Bolster (USA)
  • Special Jury Mention: "The Next Part" directed by Erin Sanger (USA)
  • Student Visionary Award: "Nesma's Bird" directed by Najwan Ali and Medoo Ali (Iraq)
  • Special Jury Mention: "Cycloid" directed by Tomoki Kurogi (Japan)
Juries: Paola Antonelli, Kira Pollack, and Caspar Sonnen.
  • Bombay Sapphire Award for Transmedia: "Clouds" created by Jonathan Minard and James George (USA)
Juries: Delia Ephron, Carol Kane, Natasha Lyonne, Meera Menon, and Tanya Wexler.
  • The Nora Ephron Prize: "Zero Motivation" written and directed by Talya Lavie (Israel)
  • Special Jury Mention: "I Won't Come Back" directed by Ilmar Raag (Belarus, Estonia, Finland, Kazhakstan, Russia)
The winners were determined by voters on tribecafilm.com.
  • Tribeca Online Festival Best Feature Film: "Vara: A Blessing" directed by Khyentse Norbu (Bhutan)
  • Tribeca Online Festival Best Short Film: "Love in the Time of March Madness" directed by Melissa Johnson and Robertino Zambramo (USA)

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image