Profiles of Coaches, Judges and Performers in 'Superstars of Dance'

Profiles of Coaches, Judges and Performers in 'Superstars of Dance'

The world class dancing competition, 'Superstars of Dance', introduces the judges, coaches and performers from the 8 participating countries.
In a press release, NBC announce the eight international teams that will compete on "Superstars of Dance". Apart from the U.S. that will be represented by duo ballet dancer experts Georgia Ambarian and Eric Luna, the line-up will include Shaolin Monks from China, Russian Cossack dancers and Bhangra dancers from India.

A total of eight countries will participate in the unique dance competition, and one will be crowned world's best. They are Argentina, Australia, China, India, Ireland, Russia, South Africa and The United States. Hosted by Michael Flatley ("Lord of the Dance") and co-hosted by Susie Castillo ("House of Payne"), "Superstars of Dance" will be premiered on NBC January 4, 2009 at 9/8c. The show will then take a regular slot at 8/7c beginning January 5 to 19.

Profiles for each country, judge, coach and genre to be performed are below:
Coach: Tony-nominated choreographer, Sandar.
Judge: Theater Colon graduate, Maria Pogee.
Performers: Sensual cabaret artiste soloist, a contemporary Tango dancer soloist, an Argentinian Tango duo and a group performing Gaucho style dance.
Coach: International ballroom champion Jason Gilkison.
Judge: Dancer, actor, singer and choreographer, Kelley Abbey.
Performers: A tap dance soloist, a contemporary dancer soloist, a Latin ballroom duo and a group performing contemporary dance.
Coach: Shaolin Monk Matthew Ahmet of Britain.
Judge: Senior Buddhist Master Haiyang Wang.
Performers: A traditional Chinese ribbon dancer soloist, a double whip soloist, an acrobatic ballet duo and the Shaolin Monks Kung Fu group "Shaolin: Wheel of Life".
Coach: "Lord of the Dance associate choreographer Marie Duffy Pask.
Judge: "Dark Lord" dancer Daire Nolan.
Performers: Irish Step Dancers.
Coach: Bollywood dance company founder Nakul Dev Mahajan.
Judge: Stage shows choreographer Shirish Dayal.
Performers: A Bharantanyam dancer soloist, a Kathak soloist, a Bollywood duo and a group performing Bhangra style of dance.
Coach: Moscow Ballet Theater dancer Stanislav Issaev.
Judge: Russian folk dancing company director Mikhail Smirnov.
Performers: A ballet dancer soloist from the world famous Bolshoi Ballet, a contemporary dancer soloist from the world famous Bolshoi Ballet, a ballroom duo and a group performing Cossak style of dance.
Coach: Dancer and singer Tandi Bhengu
Judge: Ballroom and Latin American championship dancer Harold Van Buuren.
Performers: A hip/hop dance soloist, an Afrofusion dance soloist, World Champion jive-inspired dance duo and a group performing Gumboot.
Coach: Emmy-award winning choreographer Marguerite Derricks.
Judge: Dancer Tony Selznick.
Performers: A popping dancer soloist, a tap dancer soloist, World Champion cabaret style ballroom duo and a group performing hip hop.

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image