Full Winners  List of British Independent Film Awards 2008

Though 'In Bruges' led the nominees pack with seven gongs, it is 'Slumdog Millionaire' which swept the 11th British Independent Film Awards on Sunday, November 30.

AceShowbiz - The winners of the 11th British Independent Film Awards have been announced on Sunday, November 30, and one that is shinning brighter than the others is "Slumdog Millionaire". In the announcement made at Old Billingsgate Market in London, the Danny Boyle-directed movie about a poor Indian boy who gets a shot at winning millions in a television game show brought home three kudos.

Nominated for six categories, "Slumdog" has nailed three of the coveted awards given away, including the Best British Independent Film title. The romantic comedy drama has also brought recognition to its director Danny Boyle, who received the Best Director prize, and its star %cDev Patel%, who is hailed to be the Most Promising Newcomer.

In the meantime, "Hunger" and "In Bruges" which dominated the nomination with seven nods each failed to win big. "Hunger" got three awards, The Douglas Hickox Award or the Best Debut Director kudo for director Steve McQueen, Best Actor for %cMichael Fassbender% and Best Technical Achievement for cinematographer Sean Bobbitt, while "In Bruges" only managed to walk away with one prize, Best Screenplay for Martin McDonagh.

The complete winner list of the 11th British Independent Film Awards:

  • Best British Independent Film - "Slumdog Millionaire"
  • Best Director - Danny Boyle, "Slumdog Millionaire"
  • The Douglas Hickox Award [Best Debut Director] - Steve McQueen, "Hunger"
  • Best Screenplay - Martin McDonagh, "In Bruges"
  • Best Actress - %cVera Farmiga%, "The Boy in the Striped Pajamas"
  • Best Actor - %cMichael Fassbender%, "Hunger"
  • Best Supporting Actress - %cAlexis Zegerman%, "Happy-Go-Lucky"
  • Best Supporting Actor - %cEddie Marsan%, "Happy-Go-Lucky"
  • Most Promising Newcomer - %cDev Patel%, "Slumdog Millionaire"
  • Best Achievement in Production - "The Escapist"
  • Raindance Award - "Zebra Crossings"
  • Best Technical Achievement - Cinematography: Sean Bobbitt, "Hunger"
  • Best Documentary - "Man on Wire"
  • Best British Short - "Soft"
  • Best Foreign Film - "Waltz with Bashir"
  • The Richard Harris Award (for Outstanding Contribution to British Film) - David Thewlis
  • The Variety Award - %cMichael Sheen%
  • The Special Jury Prize - Joe Dunton

You can share this post!