No Country for Old Men Nailed the 2007 NBR's Best Film

No Country for Old Men Nailed the 2007 NBR's Best Film

As the National Board of Review announced their list of 2007 award winners on Wednesday (05.12.07), the thriller movie directed by the Coen brothers was named the Best Film.
Though the awards haven't been officially given out to the Coen brothers, "No Country for Old Men" has every right for celebration as the adaptation movie has been announced as the 2007 National Board of Review award winner for 2007 Best Film on Wednesday, December 5. Aside from snagging the Best Film prize, the crime thriller movie also managed to win the Best Ensemble Cast as well as the Best Adapted Screenplay.

Praising the winning picture, the president of the board, Annie Schulhof, explained why the board choose to give the awards to 'No Country'. She stated, " 'No Country for Old Men' is a brilliant convergence of extraordinary directing, a masterful screenplay and incredible ensemble performances."

Still, despite being applauded for their exceptional directing, Joel and Ethan Coen, the director of "No Country", have to admit the greatness of another renowned director, Tim Burton. On the announcement made by the board yesterday, Burton was lauded as the 2007 Best Director for his new musical movie "Sweeney Todd".

"No Country" and Burton aside, the board also announced that George Clooney was their pick for Best Actor for "Michael Clayton", while Julie Christie was chosen as the Best Actress for her performance in "Away From Her". On the same occasion, Casey Affleck who portrayed the man who killed American outlaw, Jesse James in "The Assasination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford", and Amy Ryan, who starred in Ben Affleck's "Gone Baby Gone", won Best Supporting Actor and Actress award respectively.

Supplementary to the awards winner announcement, NBR also revealed their top 10 movie list, including "Atonement", "The Bourne Ultimatum", "The Bucket List", "Into the Wild", "Juno", and "The Kite Runner". Those top ten movies were selected after the board screened about 328 movies, as stated by Schulhof. The 79th award ceremony will be held on January 15, 2008 on a gala dinner at Cipriani in New York City.

The complete list of the 2007 NBR award winners can be seen in the National Board of Review's Official Page.

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image